Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good downtown hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: This hotel is what I have come to expect with downtown hotels.
Cons: The service at the lobby bar could have been improved, i.e. quicker.
Location: This hotel is in the heart of Des Moines, so you are near all of the downtown businesses.
This is a fine hotel. The only shortcoming was the slow service at the lobby bar where I ordered lunch with friends. Otherwise, everything was very good. The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant what every extensive and what I have come to expect in a hotel like this. If I travel to Des Moines I would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from des moines

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Loved the lap pool and the service was great. Valet was awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Just didn't felt like a Marriott, the front desk service wasn't the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Iowa

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Nice location for local events. Comfortable rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
First time staying at this location. Parking lot was full and were told we could not use hotel drop off area unless we used valet service. Hotel is in need of some updating. The lobby is nice, but the rooms and facilities are dated. Did not enjoy our experience, which was surprising as we normally have great stays at Marriott hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dyersville

Great location, great staff!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Location, features, staff
Cons: Larger bathrooms with more linens.
Location: This is downtown. If you can't find music/food/shopping, you are not looking!
We stayed there when going to a Paul McCartney concert. This hotel is just blocks from Wells Fargo Arena. The hotel had several shuttles to the concert. This was a great help as the temp was 97! We liked it so well that we immediately booked this hotel for another concert in November. Staff was wonderful, nice bar/restaurant in lobby and valet parking, so we new our car would be safe. Excellent place to stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Great location

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The staff! Especially the guy at the Valet stand inside the door. He was awesome, and very helpful.
Cons: The hotel really needs to be updated and remodeled to demand the current prices.
Location: Perfectly located in downtown Des Moines
If this hotel was rated on location, staff, and the amenities, they would recieve 5 stars from me. The car valet was $24 extra per day, but there really is plenty of street parking available. The staff are very responsive, and do seem to care about their guests. However, the bar personal were not up to standard. The location is perfect, and there are plenty of shuttles available. I highly recommend eating at either Centro, or The 801 ChopHouse. Make sure you visit Josephs Jewlers just a few blocks away, its a wonderful store with lots of one of kind items. This hotel is really quite aged, and needs updating badly. The bar and food areas were nice and well kept. The pool, hotub, excercise areas were all very nicely kept. There are coin operated laundry machines also available. Rooms are small, and the bed was horrible. I think I got a total of 9 hours sleep in three days. They did try putting a feather topper on it, but it didn't help much. You don't want to change your mind in the bathrooms, because they are very small. You will have to stay in the shower for quite awhile, as the water pressure is low. Towels were rough, and cheap. YUK! All in all, it was a ok place to stay, but they are certainly very proud of it. We just expected more for the price. If you skip the maid service, and follow a couple of other tiny rules, you will get up to 500 Mariott points a day. A three day minimum stay is required.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Very NIce Stay at Marriot

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Nice property and friendly staff. Our waiter in the restaurant was exceptional, and our maid went out of her way to make sure all was well with our room. Bed was comfortable, room nice, and location was great. We were just .3 mile from our concert location, and there was a nice selection of restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a good hotel

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
A nice, clean hotel with a friendly staff. The only downside was an intermittent wi-fi in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They did not have my reservation

Posted May 19, 2017
When I arrived they did not have my reservation. They had a room, so I took it. I was charged the normal room rate, and after checkout, I was charged again, for not showing up for mr reservation. Still waiting for refund.