Ratings based on 833 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grinnell, IA

Great stay

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Pros: The bed and pillows were so comfortable
Cons: Valet parking for $24. Not cool
Location: We went to a concert at Woolys and stopped at Up Down excellent bar with old time pin ball machines. Everything within walking distance
We loved our whole stay. Can't believe they expect you to pay $24 for valet parking. Only other option is parking ramp across the street for $10. We chose the parking ramp. Great free breakfast and free reception drinks. Very comfortable room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County

Nice Hotel with a very friendly staff.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Always enjoy the stay at Embassy Suites when are in Des Moines. Once again nice staff, and like the decor improvements, like the 8 story water feature/fountain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

Craig's bday stay

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Very enjoyable stay and excellent breakfast. Met all of my expectations. I was happy and the front desk was highly professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington Heights, IL

Very nice, affordable hotel downtown.

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Nice size room. Great breakfast and happy hour. Some remodeling going on but nice lobby. Bed comfort just ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2017
We has a very enjoyable weekend room was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs IA

Close to courthouse

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Tv or alarm clock didn't work. Would be nice to have queen beds
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Worst hotel idown town

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Our room was trashed beds weren’t made. Trash in cans. So much soap scum in the tub we couldn’t bath our child. We didn’t even have clean towels. When we asked for them the staff laughed at us and said they would send some up. They never did. The WiFi is not free and the breakfast they serve is pretty much gas station food. They charge you $10 per night to park your car and the rooms are not worth the price. Look elsewhere if your needing to stay down town. They wail also charge your card $50 if you use the shampoo, or eat the chocolates. This is what the person working the front counter told us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Overall Good Stay

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Location, spacious room, good breakfast.
Cons: Bed was too bouncy and sofa was not very comfortable (low to the ground).
Location: Walking distance to a variety of things (East Village, Civic Center/Cowles Commons), etc.
Only stayed one night. Location can't be beat. Love their breakfast (made-to-order omelets and strong coffee).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location I think it is little over priced

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Clean Rooms need little update Front desk indicated since reservation was done though Expedia the internet is not free !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great staff....comfy room

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Close to SO MANY venues, restaurants, shopping...about anything you would care to do around the city.
Cons: OVERALL, very good...perhaps just a little more attention to detail...I hate celery!! LOLOL
Location: Again, read the likes above.
Check in was easy and we were to our room within 5 minutes of starting the process. Desk staff was wonderful. Upon entering the room, turned on the lights and was immediately impressed with the room arrangement and lighting ambience. I sat down on the couch with my wife to relax a few minutes - and when I put my arm around her, noticed something on the couch behind the cushion. I got up and found a clear plastic container with celery, carrots, and ranch dip inside. It had been there long enough to be warm/room temperature. We went down stairs to head out to eat, and I went to the same gent at the desk and handed him the container. I told him that I had found it on the couch top cushion - I said it wasn't ours and I was not sure why it was there. He was very apologetic and asked what they could do to rectify the issue...I smiled and said "Just give us a free nights stay I guess". I told him I was kidding and was not truly upset by this...just wondered why it might be there. He again sincerely apologized and thanked us for our discretion. We then went to eat and had a wonderful stay in the hotel. Breakfast was wonderful, the bar and staff were also wonderful. We had a restful night and continued our Saturday shopping in Des Moines. Thanks to the hotel staff for the great stay.