Ratings based on 2,192 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Very nice Grand Hotel in the heart of Greektown

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: I liked the look, the comfortable room and the location.
Cons: I have noticed that at a lot of hotels, the fan in the bathroom doesn't work. The bathroom need a refresh overall.
Location: Casinos, football stadium, baseball stadium and many restaurants.
I am a very glad I chose this hotel for my overnight stay. It is a grand old hotel in the heart of the city. There is bustling activity and nightlife all around it but my room was quiet and comfortable. The look of the hotel was great and the staff was friendly and accommodating. I took advantage of the valet parking but I was in walking distance of casinos and great restaurants. Next time I visit Detroit, I will have to stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Downtown hotel, with lots of amenities.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Great staff
Cons: Design of the room
Location: Near Greek town and downtown and highways, we had quick access to everything
Very attractive hotel, close to everything, very nice staff. However, the beds were too firm for my comfort, the rooms are spacious but the glass block wall in the bathroom was bad for the person sleeping when someone turned the light on in the bathroom. There was another glass block wall in the living room area and no curtain so you had constant light in the living space. Too you about design and less on comfort and privacy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Hotel was very spacious & clean. Quiet great for relaxing. The only con was having to pay for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Greek town stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, size of suites.
Cons: "Thin" walks.
Location: Greek town...casin, restaurants, Comerica and Ford Field, theatre.
Great location in Detroits Greektiwn area. Older hotel with spacious suites., but could hear some noises from other rooms and outside. Great staff. Free shuttle service available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Stayed there when we went to a Detroit Tigers game

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice hotel nice staff. When we were taken to our room the bell man did not think the room was cleaned properly and requested a different room. The Manet came right up with new room information.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Second time... very reliable.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Consistency
Cons: The shuttle ended at 11, and I was at a baseball game till after that time. It would have been helpful.
Location: Sports, restaurants
I ended up at the Atheneum by happenchance one other time, and decided to come back because I knew the location and enjoyed the hospitality of the staff. Sure enough, it was even better. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gahanna, Ohio

Greektown was GREAT!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Your staff was very professional, especially Corey and Captain Tony. The Front Desk also helped us in resolving a room issue without hesitation.
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Great location, exciting to be in downtown Detroit and plan to be back!!!
The wife and I really enjoyed our stay and the convenient location of the Greektown People Mover in getting around downtown Detroit. Thank you Atheneum!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Nice decor, poor upkeep

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Online photos look really nice and the main lobby is beautiful! Carpet in the room had multiple trip hazards (folds, tears, etc). Floors throughout room creak and are very noisy (woke up 9 year old). Two large pillars fill any open spaces within the room blocking partial tv view in living area. Bathroom was very ornate, granite, beautiful decor but again the tub made ungodly noises and was not comfortable for a 6'2" male
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Bathroom tub is too deep. Bathroom floor dangerously slippery. Room entry keys didn't work.
Location: Great location to Comerica Park and downtown restaurants.
Nice staff. Fair price for this nice downtown hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very short stay but excellent

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Very short stay. Staff was outstanding. Room was excellent.