Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel....A few areas of opportunity

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: it was convenient, although it's located right by the highway...so there's a lot of outside noise.
Cons: Hire friendlier people Do a better job at cleaning
Experience was good. I needed an affordable hotel for the night for a meeting I was attending. Price was right. Representative who checked me in was awesome..very nice, friendly, bubbly. Room was ok...the little things seemed to be missed. Example...there were strands of hair in quite a few places. The knob on the show was broken. You had to really press it in order to turn on the shower or turn it off. The representative when i was checking out was HORRIBLE. Didn't ask me a thing about my stay, didn't smile, wasn't friendly, nothing. Didn't invite me back, didn't offer me breakfast, nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello and thank you very much not only for visiting, but for offering such a thorough review of your visit. We appreciate the feedback and please know that we have passed all comments directly to our general manager for his review. Our sincere apologies for any issues with service or housekeeping. Thank you once again and we hope to see you on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Clean and good view

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Clean but bit old. Heart of downtown with very nice view of river
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Greetings from Detroit and thank you so much for posting about your visit. We love receiving feedback from guests such as yourself and we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed. Thank you once again for visiting Detroit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Weekend getaway

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: You can ride the people mover from the hotel to all major attractions downtown.
Nice hotel downtown within walking distance to alot of fun things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Greetings Carole and thank you so much for the lovely five stars! We appreciate you posting and of course, staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by David

Great Stay, Will Stay Again

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
After driving a few hours, we arrived early and the room was ready for us to rest. The air conditioning didn't work but they fixed it. The room had a nice few of the Canadian check point with was great for determining the best time to drive to Canada. No waiting in line. We also walked to the Tigers game. The desk and parking staff were all very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello David and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for your Detroit experience. We apologize for the issue with your A/C but we're happy to hear it was resolved promptly. Glad you were able to enjoy a Tigers game while visiting. Thanks again for being our guest and we hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by Not Provided

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very nice and the location was great. However, the staff was not pleasant and appeared ill equipped to deal with a busy Saturday night
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you very much for visiting. We are truly very sorry for the issues you experienced with our team and we've passed all comments to our general manager for his review. Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The good and the bad

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Disappointing, to say the least. Called the day before our stay and asked about early check-in. I was told no problem just call the day of your stay. So, I did. This time I was told it shouldn't be a problem, just come in and they would check us in early. When we got there we were told they don't do early check-in, but we could call a half hour prior and they would let us know. They suggested we have a drink in the bar. Went over to the bar area and it was closed. Called again at 2:30 and told no early check-in. So, we arrived at 3:00 check-in time only to be met with a line going out the front door. Apparently everyone was told the same thing. There was only one staff at front desk and one staff getting luggage. Needless to say we waited quite some time. Why have all your guests wait until 3:00, and then not have enough staff to accommodate the check-in process? The room was great with a beautiful view. Very clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant never opened the entire time we were there. If you advertise these amenities you should have them available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and first and foremost, please let us offer our sincere apologies for any and all misinformation you were given during your visit with us. It's always our top priority to offer and seamless and memorable visit for our guests and it appears we fell short in several areas during your visit. Please know that we do appreciate all of your feedback and we've passed it directly to our general manager for his review. Once again, we thank you for staying and we're truly sorry.
4 out of 5
by Maura

Great location, very comfortable!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel in a good location. Right downtown, within walking distance of everything. Our room was large, modern and clean with a great view of the river. People Mover stop right in the hotel. Very friendly staff! My only complaint was the lobby was a bit dated and tired, everything else was good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Maura and thank you for choosing Courtyard Detroit on your recent with to the Motor City. We appreciate you posting and offering your feedback. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment with our lobby, but know that we've forwarded your comments to our general manager for his review. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
by s from Scott

awesome!!

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
great downtown hotel, will stay here again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Scott and on behalf of our entire team here in Detroit, we want to thank you not only for visiting, but for the AWESOME review. We love the five stars and we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed. Thanks again and please visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durango, CO

Great pool!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The staff, the beds, the pool
Cons: Room service please!
Location: Located downtown. Great view of lake and Windsor border.
This hotel had a friendly staff, clean rooms, and awesome pool overlooking downtown. Repair was needed on the ceiling but the pool itself was in great condition. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. The only downside was their room service was not available but the gentleman at the front desk did provide us with delivery menus. There is also a 24 hour mart open where we could purchase beer. Enjoyed the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello Jennifer and thank you very much not only for visiting, but for posting such a thorough review of your experience. We apologize for any disappointment with our in-room dining hours, but we're happy to hear our front desk team was able to assist. Thank you once again and we hope to see you back here in Detroit very soon.
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Ami, Hotel Management
Greetings Nicole and on behalf of all of us at Courtyard Detroit Downtown, we say THANK YOU for the wonderful five stars. We appreciate you visiting and we hope to see you again very soon.