Ratings based on 824 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Park was a little expensive other wise a great convenient place to stay very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Baseball or Football this is where you want to sta

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Location and comfort
Cons: Can be a little noisy when the bars close on Saturday night.
Location: It is at the center of downtown. Everything is close.
Stayed Friday thru Mon. Had Lions tickets. Great location. Comfortable. Personnel have great customer service. Food drinks near by. Safe and cozy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location in the entertainment district downtown, as well as our kind staff, and cozy atmosphere. We hope to see you back in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect if going to a concert in the music hall

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Being in Detroit for the first time, I was a little scared and didn't know what to expect.The hotel being a 3 minute walking distance from the music hall, I felt at ease. Since Im only 20, this is like the hotel I could find that lets anyone older than 18 book a room. Upon my arrival, the staff was friendly and efficient. Plus my room was very cozy. The pillows and beds made me relaxed and helped with a good night's sleep. Overall, if I'm ever in Downtown Detroit, I will definitely book a room at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location near the Music Hall and our guest rooms were able to provide you with a comfy and cozy stay. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, oh

Great location

Posted Oct 25, 2017
A little tough to initially find if not from the area. But was overall super pleased with hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Great Staff, Great Location

Posted Oct 21, 2017
The staff was very friendly and welcoming - just went out of their way with great service. The location is amazing!!! A quick walk to any sporting event downtown and near a lot of great restaurants! The room was clean and the beds were comfortable - we will definitely be staying here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to review. We are glad our kind and helpful staff delivered great service and you enjoyed our convenient location in the entertainment district! We look forward to seeing you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
I truly enjoyed my experience at the Hilton Garden Inn. Everything was very accommodating and in close proximity to highways and food restaurantS! The staff was very kind and very helpful. The room was really nice. The only thing was on a Saturday night it was hard to fall asleep because the music outside was so loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience including, proximity to the highways, our restaurants, guest rooms and staff! We apologize for the music in the area, as we do all we can to assure our guests have a pleasant quiet stay. We hope to see you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grosse Pointe,MI

D'Electricity in Detroit

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pool and spa were closed. staff didn't warn us when we arrived. staff unaware of D'ELECTRICITY activities. No brochure.None for Oktoberfest. Well planned room. Comfortable beds. Nice bathroom.Tiny microwave. Close to Ford Field,Comerica Park. Easy walk to Opera House and Qline Several nearby restaurants. Many not open early for breakfast.Coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning.Wish windows opened. Room is expensive, Spartan for the cost,Safe.Parking and continental breakfast should be included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize the pool and hot tub was not functioning upon your stay. We would like to assure you that our management and staff does all we can to assure facilities are running properly at all hours, during any issue or cleaning we move to complete the task in the most timely manner. We are glad you you enjoyed our comfortable room and our location in the entertainment district. Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all sports venues

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Staff at Hotel were great and very welcoming. Would stay again. Would also recommend to anyone going downtown Detroit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by HIlton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to your return soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moundsville, WV

Nice hotel except Wednesday nights.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: the staff, room and pool
Cons: pursue the lawsuit against the motorcycle club
Location: located just two blocks from Comerica Park, Ford Field, and many other attractive venues and restaurants
The hotel itself was wonderful, and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Even though it was no fault of the hotel, our stay was somewhat miserable. Apparently on Wednesday nights a rather large motorcycle club is permitted by the city to meet on the street alongside the hotel. They rev their bikes and speed up and down the street into the wee hours--everything from Harleys to crotch rockets. As we traveled all day to get there prior to taking in the nearby baseball game at Comerica Park, we were rather exhausted, in need of some good shut eye. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep at all due to the motorcycle noise. I recommend the hotel, but avoid it at all costs on Wednesdays--at least until the biker issue is resolved.
4 out of 5
by Lisa M

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
I appreciate the remodeling of the rooms; however, there is not enough light. An additional lamp would be helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017
Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. We would like to share we have ordered additional lighting for the rooms and are excited for our guests to have the option of the additional lighting. We hope to see you back in the near future!