Ratings based on 943 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

I Wish I Had Read the Reviews Before Booking

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The Valet Staff
Cons: Hotel staff that is professional Clean rooms EVERY NIGHT HOT WATER (basically the essentials)
Location: Location is great, near the Fisher Theatre and Wayne State University. Very convenient. However the great location doesn't overcome the many challenge
I am a Detroit native so I am very familiar with the St. Regis Hotel. I was in town for three (3) nights to attend a funeral. The rooms and the hotel overall is very dated and is in need of remodeling. We quickly learned that our room did not have HOT WATER and the shower head barely put out water. We complained about this each day to no avail. Apparently the from desk manager didn't believe when we claimed the hot water was not working, as she went to the room herself and found it to be working fine. However the water ran timid at best via the spot and absolutely cold once the shower head was triggered on. On the last night, the hotel promised it was fixed. The next morning when turning on the hot water, it was SCALDING HOT, and no in-between. Essentially for the 4 days and 3 nights we could not shower, or showered in cold water. The hotel offered to refund us for our parking, which was a drop in a bucket to the overall cost and inconvenience we suffered from our stay. In addition, our room was not cleaned each day and in return housekeeping brought up sheets for US to change the bed. Unbelievable. With the exception of the Valet Staff (who were WONDERFUL) the staff at this hotel was unprofessional (maids overhead complaining they are not cleaning certain rooms or floors), restaurant staff complaining they were in a bad mood and didn't want to be there, and the front desk staff never smiled and acted as if the hotel guests being there was a bother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harbor Springs, MI

Clean neighborhood. ..2.5 miles from DMC

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Staff was courteous...very nice restaurant....quality food...moderately priced. Hotel had the best rates in the downtown are with great quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton

Grand Hotel and Great Location

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Update the bathroom and have more staff on breakfast to keep wait times down
Location: Just down the street from the Motown Museum, across from Cadillac Place and almost next door to the Fisher Building, Q-line streetcar a block away
Built in 1966, this Beautiful hotel was designed to be a grand old hotel - Great ambiance and location. Just down the street from the Motown Museum, across from Cadillac Place and almost next door to the Fisher Building and Theater. Hop on the Q-line and you're downtown in minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a nice time

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Stayed in St Regis for the first time. It was enjoyable but the management has to improve on the internet connection on the fifth floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The hotel is always clean it's got a great character, I have no issues staying there on business
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location, nice staff, great history.
Cons: Plumbing
Location: The Q-line (as well as the city bus) leading to the downtown, is steps away, good chicken & waffle joint across the street, WSU, Motown Museum
This hotel is in a good location (New Center Area) next to easily accessible public transportation, and a couple of good restaurants. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The bed was OK, we slept well. My issues (a big one): my room did not have hot water in the shower. We only stayed one night, but both days were full of activities. I ended up partially bathing in the sink just to feel clean/comfortable in public. Issue two is the remote control volume button did not work. We were winding down after a night out and only one, very loud volume level was available. The other buttons were OK, I think -- we tried to check the batteries, but there was a screw on the back holding the casing in place. Overall, I would use this hotel again if there's a good deal (good price) available. We received a valet parking credit for our complaint about the lack of hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Sep 29, 2017
great stay, great staff, great restaurant, great parking, great room, just great! and ML King & others have stayed there. word!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Nice hotel conveniently located to Amtrak a d college we were visiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Location was good, but everything was ok. The room seemed small, the bathroom was clean but no exhaust fan so it made the floor slippery. Bed was hard and the blanket was heavy and kept falling off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Handy for station and streetcar

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Staff were helpful, and the beds extremely comfortable.
Cons: They need to make sure the high quality of maintenece is maintained in this heritage building.
Location: The Tamla museum is nearby, and most of the interesting museums and art galleries are easily reached from the streetcar, which stops 100 yards from th
The hotel is in a beautifully restored heritage building in mid-town Detroit, close to the Amtrak station and streetcar. Betweeen the hotel and downtown are several of the main museums/atr galleries of Detroit, as well as several excellent coffee houses,restaurants and brew-pubs. Also close by is the Tamla Museum.