Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The hotel is always clean it's got a great character, I have no issues staying there on business
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location, nice staff, great history.
Cons: Plumbing
Location: The Q-line (as well as the city bus) leading to the downtown, is steps away, good chicken & waffle joint across the street, WSU, Motown Museum
This hotel is in a good location (New Center Area) next to easily accessible public transportation, and a couple of good restaurants. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The bed was OK, we slept well. My issues (a big one): my room did not have hot water in the shower. We only stayed one night, but both days were full of activities. I ended up partially bathing in the sink just to feel clean/comfortable in public. Issue two is the remote control volume button did not work. We were winding down after a night out and only one, very loud volume level was available. The other buttons were OK, I think -- we tried to check the batteries, but there was a screw on the back holding the casing in place. Overall, I would use this hotel again if there's a good deal (good price) available. We received a valet parking credit for our complaint about the lack of hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Sep 29, 2017
great stay, great staff, great restaurant, great parking, great room, just great! and ML King & others have stayed there. word!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Nice hotel conveniently located to Amtrak a d college we were visiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Location was good, but everything was ok. The room seemed small, the bathroom was clean but no exhaust fan so it made the floor slippery. Bed was hard and the blanket was heavy and kept falling off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Handy for station and streetcar

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Staff were helpful, and the beds extremely comfortable.
Cons: They need to make sure the high quality of maintenece is maintained in this heritage building.
Location: The Tamla museum is nearby, and most of the interesting museums and art galleries are easily reached from the streetcar, which stops 100 yards from th
The hotel is in a beautifully restored heritage building in mid-town Detroit, close to the Amtrak station and streetcar. Betweeen the hotel and downtown are several of the main museums/atr galleries of Detroit, as well as several excellent coffee houses,restaurants and brew-pubs. Also close by is the Tamla Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Very pleasant stay...

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This hotel is wonderful!!! I loved the way it was decorated, classic and regal. Our bed was so comfy and our room was clean. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. We dined in the restaurant and our meal was delicious! We did pay for the valet parking and it was worth it We would absolutely return and recommend the Hotel St. Regis to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manitoba, canada

Lovely little hotel not to far from downtown

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Hotel was good with that old fashioned feel, but nice. Rooms were decent, beds were comfortable. Was only 5 minute drive to downtown. Staff were friendly. Restaurant had a wonderful menu. Valet was always readily available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Donna R., Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. They will be shared with our staff. We hope to see you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a night or two

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
No hot water in the bathroom, but the hotel itself was well kept for its age.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you for letting us know that there was an issue with the temperature of the water in your room. It is appreciated.
4 out of 5
by Rachelle

Old School Class.

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Came to Detroit for the Tigers game. The St Regis provides a quality, comfortable, convienent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you for staying here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We appreciate your feedback.