Ratings based on 953 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel inside and out.

Posted Dec 7, 2017
My stay at the St. Regis was excellent. I was in town for a job interview and everything ran smoothly! Thanks for making it an enjoyable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, Ontario

Comfortable spot in the New Center Area

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Close to cultural centre and the Detroit Institute of Arts. Very pleasant and comfortable. A different perspective on Detroit as it is not downtown. Enjoyed ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

GREAT STAY!

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Cons: Hot water didn't last for three people.
I'm not sure what the negative reviews are all about. This place was extremely nice - clean, comfortable, and the staff was great! While it's not within walking distance to the immediate downtown area, we had no problem finding an Uber a quick trip to Ford Field. We will definitely stay at St. Regis again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Affordable hotel near transit

Posted Nov 19, 2017
We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay overnight after going to a concert. We chose this hotel since it was right next to the QLINE. It was easy to get to, and a comfortable place to sleep. Overnight parking is $20 valet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit,mi

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Coolest awesome 👏 😍😍😍😍😍😍😜😜😜😜😜😜😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😍😍😍😍
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Excellent location, super-friendly staff at the front desk, valet parking, and at the restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

I Wish I Had Read the Reviews Before Booking

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The Valet Staff
Cons: Hotel staff that is professional Clean rooms EVERY NIGHT HOT WATER (basically the essentials)
Location: Location is great, near the Fisher Theatre and Wayne State University. Very convenient. However the great location doesn't overcome the many challenge
I am a Detroit native so I am very familiar with the St. Regis Hotel. I was in town for three (3) nights to attend a funeral. The rooms and the hotel overall is very dated and is in need of remodeling. We quickly learned that our room did not have HOT WATER and the shower head barely put out water. We complained about this each day to no avail. Apparently the from desk manager didn't believe when we claimed the hot water was not working, as she went to the room herself and found it to be working fine. However the water ran timid at best via the spot and absolutely cold once the shower head was triggered on. On the last night, the hotel promised it was fixed. The next morning when turning on the hot water, it was SCALDING HOT, and no in-between. Essentially for the 4 days and 3 nights we could not shower, or showered in cold water. The hotel offered to refund us for our parking, which was a drop in a bucket to the overall cost and inconvenience we suffered from our stay. In addition, our room was not cleaned each day and in return housekeeping brought up sheets for US to change the bed. Unbelievable. With the exception of the Valet Staff (who were WONDERFUL) the staff at this hotel was unprofessional (maids overhead complaining they are not cleaning certain rooms or floors), restaurant staff complaining they were in a bad mood and didn't want to be there, and the front desk staff never smiled and acted as if the hotel guests being there was a bother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harbor Springs, MI

Clean neighborhood. ..2.5 miles from DMC

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Staff was courteous...very nice restaurant....quality food...moderately priced. Hotel had the best rates in the downtown are with great quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton

Grand Hotel and Great Location

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Update the bathroom and have more staff on breakfast to keep wait times down
Location: Just down the street from the Motown Museum, across from Cadillac Place and almost next door to the Fisher Building, Q-line streetcar a block away
Built in 1966, this Beautiful hotel was designed to be a grand old hotel - Great ambiance and location. Just down the street from the Motown Museum, across from Cadillac Place and almost next door to the Fisher Building and Theater. Hop on the Q-line and you're downtown in minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a nice time

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Stayed in St Regis for the first time. It was enjoyable but the management has to improve on the internet connection on the fifth floor.