Ratings based on 655 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Downtown hotel in Detroit

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Despite not having any interest in gambling, we stayed at the MGM Grand Hotel in Detroit. The room was good size, well appointed, and clean. We were within easy walking distance of the downtown amenities and not too far from the River Walk. We brought our bikes which they happily kept behind the concierge desk and brought out when we wanted to ride. The only down side was a faint smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby since smoking is allowed in casinos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Upscale hotel in downtown Detroit

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Add more restaurants
Overall, the stay was pleasant. The only two downsides were an air cleaner in our room when we checked in and the fact that there is only one restaurant in the casino, which is below standard for casinos, especially an upscale hotel-casino like MGM -- most casinos have multiple restaurants, even other casinos in Detroit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zero Complaints

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We booked this hotel because it was close to the Giants v. Tigers games. It was a fairly quick walk to the park, so mission accomplished. The room was nice, clean, spacious and modern. The staff was great. The only bummer was that only adults 18+ may use the pool. Not unexpected for a casino hotel, but my son was bummed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atl

Casino

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The pool is wonderful. The sitting room when you first walk in, is very relaxing
They were always willing to help with a smile. The view from the upper floors is great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business stay at Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Room was very nice. Very large hotel and casino - lots of places to eat. Rooms were nice and comfortable but i felt a bit pricey for what you got. Very nice but probably wouldn't stay again just because of price of room. If you are staying at the hotel don't self park - very far walk from parking to lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was ok...

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Upon check-in...was told I reserved a king, when I had confirmation of reserving a 2 queen room. Said none were available, but then we had one in minutes...??? Hotel and casino were just ok. Buffet restaurant staff was extremely rude. All other restaurant staff was friendly - especially in TAP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to diwntown

Posted May 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Food in the casino was expensive compared to vegas casinos
5 out of 5
by Marvin

Room

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful room
5 out of 5
by Tracey

AMAZING!!!!

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
I had the most amazing room with a view of Comerica Park & Ford Field! Would definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Great staff, offered a car service to the guests travelling in the area which was a great perk.