Ratings based on 1,445 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

No wifi, no heat, NOT downtown

Posted Dec 17, 2017
I checked in to a hotel that was advertised on Expedia as downtown Detroit. No, it is a $20 cab to downtown. There was no wifi and no heat in my first room. They moved me to another room that the lights didn’t work and the drain for the sink didn’t open so couldn’t wash my hands or brush my teeth in the sink. Shower had almost no pressure at all and was basically a drizzle. DO NOT STAY HERE. Expedia should not be advertising this place, at least not above 1 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Downriver Michigan

Beautiful view of the Detroit River

Posted Dec 15, 2017
The hotel is somewhat difficult to find and the streets in that area are rough (potholes, not dangerous by any means), but the hotel itself is beautiful and so are the views. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We loved how they had restored the prior structure instead of rebuilding. This hotel was far enough from downtown to avoid being noisy, but close enough to drive or Uber without any issue. Highly recommend for a stay in Detroit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Hotel management staff are incompetent and disrespectful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Need to upgrade. Room, needs upgrading. Wi-Fi network/service..poor. Hotel appearance, below average...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisville ky

Nice hotel at a glance but poorly ran

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Our room had no heat. The hot water was BARELY warm enough to suffer through a shower. The bar was closed all weekend. Tried to get coffee at the restaurant and was told it had been put up for the day. Very nice looking hotel on the surface but it is very poorly maintained and managed. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to downtown

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: location price
check in took a long time - then we were sent to an unmade up room but was fixed right away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Iowa

Excellent Location

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location and history of the building. It is very unique.
Cons: The staff could be a little more versed in public transportation and they could provide more pots of coffee in the morning.
Location: Right on the river and the Riverwalk is fantastic!!! Felt very safe in the area.
I loved being right on the river. The views were outstanding. The hotel has a lot of history and is very interesting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville Tennessee

Resort

Posted Nov 26, 2017
No microwave or fridge not a good look. Other than that I was ok with the stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit

Posted Nov 25, 2017
A beautiful older hotel right on the river. The staff was friendly, the coffee was good and breakfast was delicious
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pontiac

Vacation 11/18-11/19

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Cons: Rooms need refrigerators
Location: Downtown Detroit Belle Isle Concerts Sports Events
Pros: Clean Room Comfortable Decent looking flat Big bathroom Okay TV Channels Wi-Fi Gorgeous view Not to far from Downtown Cons: No Fridge Floor 3 ice machine wasn't working. One of two elevator wasn't working. Wi-Fi cuts off every 20-30 mins and must log back on. Closet doors were hard to open.