Ratings based on 1,269 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, mi

Nice hotel, miles from downtown, bad parking

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The hotel was further from downtown than I anticipated. The parking situation here is horrible, no lighting in the parking lot, car was broken into over night. Other than that my experience at the hotel was fine
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Mold on shower curtain chair had rips in it bedding was old and worn floor was wet by door waited at least an hour to check in shower head was moved to short bathroom sink leaked won't go back again The only part we enjoyed was the view of the river and the boats
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to the River

Posted Aug 18, 2017
We were uncomfortable at first but once we settled down it was nice. It was our first time at Detroit we were not expecting the surrounding area to be so abandoned. But the hotel itself was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The bathroom was dirty, dusty at the sink counter, toilet was smelly, the check in process was slow, I got to wait for almost 20 mins for them to retrieve my booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis In

Outdated hotel with great view

Posted Aug 16, 2017
The waterfront view is the only good thing about this hotel. The building is in desperate need of an update. The parking lot was a little far away and next to an abandoned building with no lighting. Most of the rooms don't have a working air conditioner (staff member admitted this after we complained about the first room they gave us). The first room they gave us didn't have a comforter and didn't appear to be cleaned very well. Also, it appeared ro be mold on the ceiling of the bathroom.On top of that, having a refrigerator or microwave in your room is an additional fee! The view of the water is beautiful and it's located near many attractions, but I wouldn't recommend anyone here until major renovations are done.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

No bar party no refund

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: the building and rooms are nice.
Cons: I think the receptionist was angry because I called about a refund. its been a month so yes I am going to call about my money. she was borderline rude
I booked to celebrate wife's bday at the riverwaalk bar it closed early that night because of a chene park concert. ruined my wife's night checked out the next day. we paid for two days used one. called 3 times for refund nothing but a run around. we checked in Jun 23 checked out june 24. today is July 28, 2017 and I still have not received my refund. stayed at Robert's on several other occasions.first time I needed money back and they have let me down for the first time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but they have some work to do.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Great location and rooms a good size.
Cons: Rooms need some updating.
It took 35 minutes to get checked in. They only had one computer working. They were also dealing with unhappy customers because most rooms didn't have air conditioning. The receptionist was on her fourth day and she was great. We didn't get the room we prepaid for on the Expedia website but it had air conditioning so I guess we were lucky. The room was prepaid but I was charge again for the room by the hotel. I'm still waiting for the charge to be taken off my CC. I found a maintenance guy and he gave us a roll away bed to make up for our bed shortage. Staff was great considering the enviroment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Disappointed

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: It's location was on by the water
Cons: Clean this place!
Location: Close to Comerica park
I was so disappointed, The room was so dirty. First let me say the window in the room we were in is broken. Also the dust that was literally on the ceiling was so bad, the rugs were so dirty that the dust comes up from them if you walk hard enough. My allergies were so bad due to the dust in the room. The bathtub water doesn't go down so by time your done showering your standing in water along with the water in the bathroom sink. It goes down so slow. The curtains were so dirty and heavy that you cant close them. This was seriously one of the dirtiest places I have ever stayed in and it is so sad cause its a beautiful property along the water but just isn't taken care of.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful riverview

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Hotel could focus more on cleanliness in the bathroom. It's only worth it if you get the riverview which was spactaular. Harlan gave dynamic customer service. Went above & beyond checking on my room availability. Others need customer service training. Extremely long lines in lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The view is the only nice thing about this hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We arrived less than an hour early and asked if they offered early check in and was told no. So we walked by the river came back and had to wait in line in the lobby with over 50 other guests with no air conditioning and kept being told check in isn't until 3pm. They didn't even start checking anyone in until 315 and we almost missed our ride to our concert because of it. Most of the staff wasn't even dressed professionally, they were rude, and we're on the phone when u would try to speak with them. We stayed because it was supposed to be a cool historical hotel which it had some charm but there were bulbs blows all over the hotel even in out bathroom, peaking wall paper, and our carpet was sticky in our room.