Ratings based on 1,077 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from erie pa.

great hotel in great locatuion

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: breakfast service was so slow I walked out after having only coffee and juice served to me
I have stayed here the last four trips. Best overall hotel for a stay in downtown Detroit. Within walking distance from most all sites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Cons: Your valet and door staff no one to take bags? Pretty low class for a Westin!
We waited 30-45 minutes to check in. We did get a room a lot of people didn't!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly Managed

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excellent customer service experience with valet staff. They went out of their way to help us traveling with a child even when management wouldn't. Reservations were lost and was told "sorry, there's nothing we can do" as they waved the next customer over and I stand there with a fussy two year old. Management was least helpful I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice stay in Detroit

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nice beds!
Location: Comerica Park is about 10 minutes walk away.
I stayed only one night in Detroit but I had a great stay at the Westin Book Cadillac Detroit. The hotel was very nice with well appointed and very comfortable rooms. The staff were friendly and overall I had a nice stay. Importantly, they have comfortable beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything at this hotel costs extra.

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Morning coffee and Bfest costs extra, Internet costs 7.95/day, parking costs $35/day as well. You pay for a nice hotel then everything else is extra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Baseball weekend

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This is an upscale Hotel within safe walking distance of many unique and entertaining downtown Detroit attractions. The staff is excellent. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

My fave go to hotel when always in the D

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Love the historic building and great staff and amenities
Cons: The Executive Club choice of breakfasts needs to be rotated, same offering for eight straight days is tedious, whilst valet parking is a little costly
Location: Location in a redeveloping part of Downtown, removed from hustle, but quiet as a consequence which suits the clientele it would appear as it does me
As always, stay for eight nights was thoroughly enjoyable and incident free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

close to downtown activities and events.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: location to downtown.
Cons: Parking is a bit expensive $35.00 a night.
very present and clean. Loved the pool. Location was great to all downtown activities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No cancellation policy?!?

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Have a cancellation policy
Location: Roast downstairs is a great restaurant.
I don't understand how a hotel chain such as the Westin has a zero cancellation policy. I tried cancelling a month in advance on a trip I wasn't sure I wanted to take but was told they would not allow me to. I ended up having to go in order not to waste $1,200 for 3 days. As one of the most expensive hotels in Detroit, I was extremely disappointed with my room. First, my shower had no hot water. Second, the water that came out was brown and had chunks of dirt (I have pictures). Third, no apologies or anything for one day without hot water. I will never stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Taiesha

You will be pleased!

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
My entire stay was AMAZING!!! The staff and MGT rocks!!