Ratings based on 1,518 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great Location, Great Price, Sketchy Neighborhood

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Location, Price & Character
Cons: Nothing really, it was the neighborhood that needed improvement. LOTS of street people, hookers, drugs going on at East Hastings so we just avoided it
Location: Close to Gastown, close to great restaurants, bars, Chinatown, heritage buildings
Everything about the hotel itself was great - staff was friendly, rooms were neat and clean, weird smell when you walk in but that probably is just because the place is over 100 years old. Nothing I wouldn't have expected. Bar on main floor was great and moderately priced. This is a great place if you're looking for a cheap, central location and don't mind being in a somewhat sketchy area. Just walk around East Hastings street to avoid the sketchy characters and you'll be fine. Good place for couples on a budget, wouldn't necessarily want to do a family vacation stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nagoya Japan

Good hotel close to downtown Vancouver

Posted Dec 8, 2017
It was a good location hotel. Reasonable price. The clarks were so kind. Just two disadvantages There was no fridge in the room. The hotel is really close to the homeless area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Amazing location for the price

Posted Dec 5, 2017
If any of the reviews talking about the surrounding area are scaring you off, don't let them. Yeah, there are homeless people outside and the area feels a bit down, but I never once felt unsafe walking around there day or night. 10-15 minute walk to Gastown or Rogers Arena - even opted to walk to Stanley Park, which took about an hour but it's a nice way to explore the city! Didn't have to pay for transit or a cab at all, this is the most ideal accommodation for people trying to save money on their trip. The staff were so friendly and professional, and the room (while small and old) was very clean. If you're a light sleeper, street-facing rooms may be an issue as the windows are single-pane and the noise from the street REALLY blasts through (even on the 5th floor). Overall, I would totally recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to travel cheap, stay in a convenient location and isn't intimidated by the presence of people who are homeless. Even at the low price, it still felt like a steal to me because of how good it was. I'm really, really happy I didn't let some of the other reviews scare me off of this place :) It was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Awful everything!

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Dangerous area, unsafe for females and children, riddled with homeless people doing drugs
The price is what you expect..... but worse. Rooms are cramped, wifi doesn't always work, hotel staff aren't friendly, our toilet wouldnt flush, the light fitting in the bathroom started leaking, the lock on the door was broken and the tv turned off half way through the night with smoke coming out of it. This was all on the first day, when we reported it to the staff to get a room change they were hostile, and the room we moved to was even smaller, smaller tv (my laptop screen is bigger) and the wifi is worse. Secondly, the street this hotel is on is full of homeless people that harass you both in and outside of the building, walking the streets you find rubbish, needles, alcohol and weed everywhere. Not a pleasant stay, would never recommend any females stay here. There are also no ice machines, no kettles, coffee makers or microwaves. And the vending machines on the bottom level have water and juice only, and the coffee machine was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
My mother and I stayed here for a night to see friends and family. The reception staff was very welcoming. The rooms were delightful and clean. The pub downstairs was a great place to meet, very roomy and inexpensive. Loved our stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Unpleasant experience

Posted Nov 29, 2017
-located at a scary neighborhood with lots of drunk men on the street -very small room and dirty linens, Windows, and curtains
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newbury Park, California

Very old, In very bad part of town

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Great Staff
Location: 5-minute drive from Gastown
The hotel is OK for dating back to the 30s, but it is located in the absolute worst parts of Vancouver. The streets are full of homeless at all times of day, and it's generally not an area you feel safe in, nor want to bring your family or loved ones. The staff was excellent, but hotel and room were extremely outdated and in bad standing overall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price but not recommended

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly, hard-working and professional staff
Cons: It's an old building, lots of creaky sounds and smell of pot
Location: People who look homeless, and are openly drunk or high on pot. Very shady characters all around
I was stopping by for just a night and the place is ok, room was clean and staff were friendly. But it's in a very shady part of town
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected for the price.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
For a cheap hotel in a run down neighborhood it is not too bad. I have stayed there three times now and I will go back because my budget is limited. It is quite close to downtown and on a main street. The homeless people close by might worry some visitors but I have never had any problems, they are respectful and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for a Traveler soul

Posted Nov 21, 2017
This hotel was a great little Diamond in the rust. It was close to everything! (Chinatown, gastown, shopping centers...etc.) The bus picked us up right in fromt of the hotel and sropped us off in Stanley Park (which has the aquarium) for 1.85 cad each since we were students. It was amazing for travelers, tourist, students... Don’t let the outside fool you, homeless people won’t harm you if you don’t bother them. Last but not least, what really earned the 5 stars was Noor at the front desk! He was so helpful and if I return (which I will) is because of him. Gracias Noor! You are the best!