Ratings based on 1,036 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Clean, comfortable, and excellent staff.

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Location, free wifi, and mini fridge in the room. Excellent customer service throughout.
Cons: Parking options. Unfortunately the comments in other reviews are correct. Parking is expensive. It would be nice to have subsidized/free for guests
Location: Easy access to Convention Centre & all other downtown attractions.
I needed a downtown hotel to be close to a friend going through medical treatment. Got a good rate off Expedia (after a bit of a system hiccup that they sorted within 10 minutes.) Check-in was fast and friendly. Room was beautiful. My 'city view' actually was on a back corner with views across the river valley so I was quite delighted. The room was spotless and well appointed - plenty of plugins for electronics, a desk, and loads of storage available. Free wifi and mini fridge in room. Bathroom was well appointed - would have been nice to have a counter top with room for a cosmetic bag instead of a narrow ledge, but that was only very minor complaint. Water was piping hot and great pressure. (P.S. The hair dryer hangs in a bag off the back of the bathroom door - took me a few minutes to find that!) Had breakfast buffet at the Bistro each morning. Food options were plentiful and varied. Loved the fresh bread loaf. Staff were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Even sent me out with a second cup of tea in a go cup! All in all, a good solid hotel with great service. Parking is available, but as other reviewers have suggested, it is expensive. $25/night (until 9am) for the outdoor lot, and $30 for the valet. There is a multi-storey parkade next door, I think, but it wasn't offered as an option, so not sure what the rates are there. If you come back to the outdoor lot during the day, it's $7/hour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not much effort put into the renovation

Posted Dec 14, 2017
It’s unfortunate that hotels in Edmonton are mostly drab utilitarian affairs. The renovation to the new Courtyard concept was. It executed well for this site because it would have taken some real cash to do it right. So instead.... the staff is nice and helpful. The views on the river side are pretty amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Bob, we appreciate the time you took to post a review. We loved having you and happy our amazing views and wonderful staff enhanced your stay. Please come back soon and safe travels. Best, Chris Short, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Good Downtown Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Wasn't ready to also pay $25. for parking and that only got you to 9AM the next day.
Had a due at The Shaw. This hotel was close and reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The food at the bistro was delicious...staff was friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We're so pleased you had an excellent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown! We couldn't be happier that you liked our Bistro. We're especially glad to see that our associates made you feel welcome and left you with a good impression of our hotel. Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We would love to have you stay with us again! Chris Short, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Friendly helpful staff. Very accommodating looking up info on computer
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Edmonton Downtown and taking time to review your stay! It was a pleasure to read about the excellent service you received from our staff. This is what we strive to do every day, so thank you for acknowledging our efforts. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome back on a future visit! Chris Short, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

They used to be good

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The room temperature was too hot for comfort; the temperature conrol doesn’t work :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Joshua, First and foremost, thank you for returning as our guest. That in itself is a compliment. However, we would like to apologize for the issue you encountered with the air conditioning unit in your room. Thanks for bringing this to our attention; our engineering staff will take care of this right away. Please know, though, that if this ever happens again, you may always alert us to the issue. We want you to be as comfortable as possible and would have loved to try to resolve this while you were here. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Edmonton! Chris Short, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Slave Lake, AB

Nice Hotel Bad Parking

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Nice, clean, modern hotel. Good location but parking was an issue. It was a busy weekend in Edmonton, when we arrived at the hotel there was nowhere to leave our vehicle so had to leave in the middle of the street and move our luggage, giving our keys to the front desk. At first we thought our vehicle was going to be parked in the front of the hotel so could justify the $30/night fee but realized it was parked in the self park lot in front of the hotel. Overall good stay but would likely chose somewhere else next time we’re in Edmonton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our hotel. We apologize for the difficulty you experienced in finding a parking space. Our location is a popular vacation and convention spot, so from time to time parking spaces are in high demand. On your next visit, please know we will do our best to help you with this situation. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town! Chris Short, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stayed for a wedding

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The only thing we were unhappy about was the $32 parking!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hinton, Alberta

Great location, Valet parking service excellent

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Great location. Valet parking service was excellent. Check in was very fast
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Natalie, Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad our location worked well for you and that you appreciated our valet service. Thanks for being our guest. We look forward to your next visit at Courtyard Edmonton Downtown! Chris Short, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort mcmurray

What a joke

Posted Oct 30, 2017
It was halloween. My wife and I were in town for a pre natal appointment. Upon our arrival the hotel staff warned me that there was a no party policy that night. We were fine with that, we just needed a quiet place to lay our heads anyway. Fast forward a few hours and the lobby was littered with young adults, all dressed up and drunk. The elevators were sticky with spilled beer and every other room was having a party. The staff members also couldn’t get the story straight on wether our breakfast was included or not. Everyone was giving us different answers. We ended up leaving without eating. Horrible stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Mat, It was disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and we're truly sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide. Chris Short, General Manager