Ratings based on 513 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff is why this is a great hotel!

Posted May 2, 2017
Can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff is. A big shout out to Gwen a server in the lounge. If things aren't quite right, she doesn't ask if she can do something to fix it, she just fixes it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna,bc

COMFORT!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The Fairmont MacDonald was amazing. The location was perfect for us. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and Roger's Place. Close to transit. Room was small but very comfortable. The bed and pillows were out of this world!! Little bit of noise from the street outside our window but that's just part of being in the city and in a heritage hotel. Overall our stay was amazing. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gold Floor! Excellent.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Great night! Enjoyed the 7th floor and will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton, ab

Unpublished rate success!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Loved the hotel Mac! Great views, good walking and kids under 5 eat free in the restaurant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was loud next to main road

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Very loud room. Wasn't impressed with over all quality of room. Hole In door. Shower was old with cracks in the tile. The hotel was old but little things need to be replaced or fixed
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Hotel Macdonald , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It was disheartening to hear that there were deficiencies with your guestroom. We will ensure to follow up and correct any of these issues. Regards, Garrett Turta General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Dirty sheets on the pull out

Posted Apr 3, 2017
They 'upgraded' us to a room with a pull out and a separate bedroom. The sheets were blood stained - yep. Oh and our upgrade located just above a 2017 grad party booked in the lounge. Second class treatment from start to finish. Won't be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Hotel Macdonald, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It was disheartening to hear that there were deficiencies with your sheets as this has never happened before. We will ensure to follow up with our housekeeping team about this issue and please contact us to further discuss your stay with us. Regards, Garrett Turta General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Classic, Beautiful and Charming

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The beauty of this hotel. I can only imagine how gorgeous the grounds are in the spring and fall.
Cons: A dresser in the room would have been nice. Construction and highway noise was a little loud in the mornings.
Location: A close walk to Rogers Place, a lot of restaurants, shops. Convenient location to just about everything we wanted to do in Edmonton.
One of the most amazing hotel experiences I have ever had. Every aspect of the service was impeccable. The valet parking was efficient and had the foresight to have our car ready for us early in the morning that we checked out without us even requesting it. The front desk was attentive and a great source of information. The staff in the bar and Harvest room were top notch and remembered us. Housekeeping did an amazing job of cleaning our room (even if we were out for a short sliver of time). Our room was beautiful. Elegant. Stately. It was clean and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the river. We could hear the highway and the construction down below on weekdays, but I don't think that could be helped. A dresser would have been nice, but that would be my only knock. I think we sampled a bit of everything that this grand hotel had to offer. The pool and whirlpool were really nice. Room service was prompt and delicious. Offering coffee, tea and water bottles in the lobby was nice. We did not get an opportunity to meet Smudge (the resident dog - he was on vacation) but seeing his little bed and dog house gave the hotel character that you just can't find anymore. We would definitely stay here again when we go back to Edmonton.
5 out of 5
by Calleigh

Great location!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very comfortable and great location to attend Rogers Place for the hockey game! Even though the hotel is right downtown, street noise was minimal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: I liked the food, service and friendly staff. Very helpful!
Cons: I would improve the dust management. It seems a little dusty.
We had a lovely stay on the Gold Floor of the Fairmont McDonald Hotel. The service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Convenient location and friendly staff

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean and comfy. Fitness facility open late. Friendly staff. Pet-friendly.
Cons: Cleaner walk way from parkade to hotel. There was fast-food waste littered along the sidewalk.
We drove up from Calgary for a one night stay. I always enjoy Fairmont facilities and am a President's Club member, so we naturally opted to stay at the Hotel Macdonald while in Edmonton. I didn't care much for the parkade, as it was provided by a third party manager and felt a bit dingy. That said, we did not encounter any issues parking there and only had to walk a short distance to get to the hotel lobby. Staff has to be the top reason to stay at any Fairmont; courteous and accommodating, and go that extra mile to see that your stay is comfortable. Bonus for us is that it's a pet friendly hotel, so we were able to bring our family dog with us on this trip. Overall, though it was a short trip, the hotel and staff made it a nice little getaway and I would definitely recommend it to others heading to Edmonton.