Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Fantastic hotel run very well! Staff are welcoming and attentive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lac La Biche AB

Don't stay here.

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Nothing that hasn't been said above.
Location: Too far away to be able access the downtown mall comfortably.
For many years we had heard about the Hotel McDonald and how great it was supposed to be and it being at the heart of Edmonton's downtown. Now we have stayed in many other luxury hotels so we were going by reputation when it came to this one. In short, we had the worst experience imagined. My wife contracted swimmers itch from the swimming pool resulting in her being covered in a rash head to toe. This was still present two days after our stay. My wife had an altercation with prostitutes on the same floor and practically next door to our room. It sounded like someone was being beaten in the hotel room the noise was that loud. When this was brought to the attention of the hotel front desk staff our concerns were dismissed as if there was no substance to our concerns. We have stayed at the Banff Springs Hotel, the Empress and the Hotel Saskatchewan in Regina. All of these maintained a high standard in the conduct of their guests. At the Hotel McDonald there didn't seem to be a standard and, more importantly, the staff were aloof to our concerns. So you have one chance to make a good impression. Hotel McDonald you failed us in that chance. Never again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Cozy and warm on a January night

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Had such a beautiful dinner in the Confereation Room. I spent the rest of my evening by the fireplace on the comfy sofa reading and then later went to bed. It is such a grand hotel but also has a home quality about it. Perfect on a dark, cold January night. I also like that it looks like a castle!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

NYE Too busy to be "5"

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: We upgraded to the Royal Suite, which was fantastic!
Cons: The Royal Suite should have washroom facilities on the main floor. Currently, guests have to go upstairs to the bedroom ensuite.
Location: Too cold -28 to do anything nearby!
This hotel had lineups that were longer than anything I've seen and they were all for President's Club. The front door was broken due to the cold and we had to enter from a side door. The service was lacking in the restaurants but also a better attitude would have made the bad service forgivable and understandable due to the over subscribed hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta

Posted Jan 2, 2018
2 hour wait for room to be ready. Was told bags would be brought right up, had to go get them after another half an hour as we had reservations we needed to make. Valet said 5-10 minute wait for vehicle to be brought around, ended up being 45 minutes. I understand being busy but our entire stay seemed to be nothing but waiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Old Hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The building is falling apart inside. The windows in our room we're letting in sooo much cold in that we had to have thermostat to 32 degrees to keep it 22. Parking is $35 per day, No free wi-if, hot tub was maybe 90 degrees. Biggest thing was hotel shut down their front turning door and everyone had to use side parking door to get into hotel. Staff said front door lets in too much cold air. This hotel is needing some renovations!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Great for business trips not for leisure/vacation.

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: The reception staff made good efforts to manage the busy time.
Cons: Separate the dining and breakfast arrangement for hotel residents.
Location: Christmas Lighting outside the legislation building. day time picture in Government House Park and Victoria Golf Course
Very comfortable hotel for business visitors, would not recommend for leisure or vacation specifically in winter time. Most facilities like lounge were closed for maintenance. The restaurants are over crowded - we were told that they had about 1100 dinner and breakfast bookings for the non hotel residents. We were not able to book dinner as phones were not answered all day long. Valet parking was extremely busy (the hold time to get the car was 45 minutes and the car was freezing as there was no underground parking, the car was parked outside in -30 all night). I wish the break fast and dinner arrangement for hotel residents was better. It was quite a challenge to wait for car and go out to eat in extreme cold. Even for breakfast bookings the phones were not answered, we walked down to restaurant and were told there is no seating available. We tried again just in 10 minutes and luckily offered the seat because of no show. Overall it was comfortable stay but given that how busy the hotel was we changed our plan to travel outside (in extreme winter) instead of spending family time inside the hotel. The reception, room service and valet staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Historically

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Lounge is excellent Fine dining average Location excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Festive Holiday Stay

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Outstanding first impression with the spectacular Christmas Tree as you enter!
Location: We enjoyed the steakhouse across the street for a work gathering in a private room.
Wonderful stay and thoroughly enjoyed the lounge with friends!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Room was great. Only issue we had was we got 2 conditioners and no shampoo, but that was rectified immediately. The shower door handle was extremely loose and we were concerned about it falling off. Staff was very friendly.