Ratings based on 2,059 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Posted Oct 22, 2017
It was our first time to stay at the Matrix and we really had a great time! The complimentary breakfast is very good too. They have nice staffs and the hotel ambiance is really relaxing — perfect for peaceful weekend while staying at downtown. Bars and clubs are also near the location if you planned for a not-so-peaceful and more exciting friday night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Morning room cleaning

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Does the staff have to start cleaning rooms at 8am everyday? I get one day off a week and enjoy sleeping a little longer on sundays...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent

Posted Oct 18, 2017
You need to add some other fomey soaps to the bath and also safe box( to keep some valuable things). But overall the hotel is very good. And good to recommend to friends too. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The hotel is a short walk to the Legislature grounds. Many restaurants near by. Close to Jasper Avenue but also far enough away that it is quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice hotel on the surface

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The hotel look nice on the surface me it's very modern. The unfortunate aspect is that the hotel walls were very thin so you can hear the neighbors next to you and you could also hear when people were showering. It was quite an uncomfortable sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with amazing services.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Location: Close to Rogers Centre and Winspear Centre.
Wonderful little hotel in a perfect spot. The room was exactly as advertised, parking was free, wifi was good, breakfast and wine tasting were amazing. We always stay at this hotel or one of it's sister properties in Edmonton. Cannot be beat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Excellent hotel. Allowed late check out because they knew we were a bridal party. The breakfast buffet is delicious!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They double charge

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The hotel experience was okay, it is in a good location but my hotel was already paid thru Expedia, I had to explained that when I checked in and two weeks later I notice in my credit card that they had charged me again for the hotel. I have been disputing this charge for a month now. When I called the hotel to request the reimbursement they were not very nice and I'm still waiting for my money back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Staff was very helpful. The door to my room was ajar and wouldn't close when I checked in. They quickly moved me to a new room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Nice hotel, but needs a few more upgrades

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We chose to stay at the Matrix due to a wedding taking place in the hotel. The hotel was clean, suite was spacious, and the location was perfect. Unfortunately there were issues with check-in where they had trouble finding the reservation and then inadvertently checked us in under a family members booking with a different room. As such we were initially given the wrong room but this was rectified. It is understandable the the hotel was busy at the time but I expected better service for the price of the stay. In addition the elevators are incredibly slow and the stairwells are not accessible in between guest floors. As we had multiple groups of people staying in the hotel for the wedding the elevators/stairwells posed a challenge for travelling back/forth between rooms. The breakfast offered was excellent however - a step above any other hotel 'complimentary' breakfast I have had before.