Ratings based on 1,814 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Jan 20, 2018
This hotel is too high priced for what you get, rooms need to be upgraded and parking is $32 per night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Perfect for a stay after a hockey game. Walked from stadium through indoor ped walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonnyville

Nice hotel close to Rogers

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Positive experience again.Clean rooms, friendly staff. Good food and drinks, close to Rogers place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Worst check in experience, ever!

Posted Jan 6, 2018
We booked sutton place for the location. It was new years eve and we were going to walk to the fireworks and activities. Unfortunately the extreme weather that week caused a cancellation of all outdoor activities. So my 11 year old son and I decided just to stay warm in hotel and watch fireworks from window. We pulled up in front of hotel at 5pm. There was no valet or doorman. Construction was blocking one door so we finally found another door that worked. After standing in line for over 10 minutes we were served. I was told self serve parking was $31 and that it was underground secure parking below hotel. Pricey, but worth it because it was - 37c! We were instructed to drive around building to entrance of parkade "take any stall except for ones that say restricted" when we pulled in to give parking attendant our ticket he told us parking was FULL. I said that we are guests at the hotel and they just told us to park here. He repeated that it was full because of "game day" and that we need to go park at Bell tower. Not being from Edmonton we has no idea where that was! And we would have to drag luggage blocks back to hotel in - 37 weather!?! He just said the hotel only has 10 spots and they are taken "game day" so we had to back out of underground parking entrance. Drive around block again and park in front of hotel. I went in to talk to desk about the parking being full. He didn't know that. We paid for valet and there was no one to help with our bags. - 37!! Terrible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prince George, BC

Close to Rogers, but that's it.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The CHOP Restaurant. Great to be able to go for a drink and bite to eat after the game without leaving the hotel.
Cons: Parking, parking, parking. The staff should know all the parking lots on the block and how to access them from the hotel without stepping outside if
I cannot emphasize this point enough; parking is lousy and for a city where it is cold, that is crucial. We arrived to the front door of this hotel only to see a bus parked in the area that should be reserved for guests checking in. Not a big deal I guess, but there was nowhere else to park. As we circled the block three times waiting for the bus to move, there is no indication anywhere of parking for hotel guests. It should also be noted here that there is nothing, absolutely nothing about parking on the hotel website. Well, we see the bus is not moving, so we decide to find a parkade and then find ourselves having to lug suitcases, etc, through freezing temperatures. Finally time to check in. At check in I ask about parking and am told the hotel has it's own lot, which would be nice, but the price is no less than the lot I've already parked in. Fine. We check in, make our way to the room, get changed and start to head to the Oilers game. This is about an hour after checking in, and guess what is still out front? That's right, the same bus occupying the check in parking and half of the space reserved for cabs. Room was nice, but the parking horrible
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

With Walking Distance to Roger’s Centre.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Unfortunately ended up in a room that was not been upgraded compared to the very nice upgraded room that we had on a previous stay. The room seemed clean but the fridge had food from the previous occupants. Parking is a bit expensive but definitely convenient especially in extreme cold weather. Location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Everything about our experience was great - the only thing that wasn't convenient was the fact that room service was very hard to get ahold of/didn't provide our correct order once it did come. However i think this has more to do with Chop steakhouse then it does with The Sutton, and it was a very busy night (new years eve). Overall, The Sutton was Lovely!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Great hotel close to Rogers Centre

Posted Jan 3, 2018
We stay here often and it is always great. Location is excellent as we are here for hockey games on the majority of our visits. Our room smelled like cigarette smoke this time around which was a little disappointing but other than that as good as always.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lloydminster ab

Sutton place

Posted Dec 31, 2017
We had to move three times. The first room was two double beds I booked queen beds. Second room the heat didn’t work. Third room they moved us to a joning room with king size beds. We have little kids so didn’t work out great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
It was good. Check in was quick, staff friendly. Great location for Oilers game.