Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Keigan

Windsor in the middle of the red light district

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
We had booked a room for 3 nights so I will break it down as such. Check in • the man who checked us in was nice and helpful, gave us suggestions for the city. Quick and easy. Night 1• our room was TINY and absolutely discusting. We had our one year old and I wouldn't let him even shower without a bath towel on the showroom floor. Not only that it was 90 degrees outside and our room was well over 100 degrees, we couldn't figure out the A/C controls so we went to the front desk for help where the same man who helped us check in informed us that the hotel did NOT HAVE A/C. it was miserable. Night 2• it had cooled down a bit but was still unbearable to sleep in we decided to cut our trip short and we were going to cancel the rest of our stay the next morning. Night 3• After telling the front desk that we were leaving because of terrible room conditions they offered to upgrade our room to the 5th floor. The room was much nicer. Still not nice, but 100 x better than what we were in. And guess what?! Out room HAD A/C so we were lied to when they said the hotel did not have A/C at all. just a few other tips. The hotel is in no way handicap or stroller friendly. The elevator is tiny and we barely managed to fit one adult and a stroller inside. You are right in the middle of the red light district with hookers literally right under your bedroom window. Kinda a sketchy area after dark honestly. Even for the price we definitely will not be staying here ever again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Odessa, Ukraine

Good situation of the hotel to the downtown

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: It' s very helpful staff. Would like to return again
Cons: Speed of wi-fi internet
Location: It' s very helpful staff. Would like to return again
It' s very helpful staff. Would like to return again
3 out of 5
by igor

No air conditioning. And in the room 30 degrees.

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
No air conditioning. And in the room 30 degrees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good short break

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Reception is very clean and staff are helpful. The room was basic and we felt that it suited our needs. The area itself doesn't look great but did feel safe and had a good chocolate and kebab shop nearby!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Don't bother

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Decent location
Cons: Everything
I booked 3 nights in June, arrived late on Monday night. It was 35 degrees Celsius in GVA that week, and I got to the room to find that the AirCon wasn't working. Given the heatwave, that was crucial to comfort. In addition the pillow was dirty, and I could hear the person in the room next door as clearly as if they were in the room. I called Reception, but the phone didn't work. Walked down to ask if they could fix it, and the night receptionist said he'd had 5 similar complaints in the last hour since he started his shift. He said they didn't think they'd fix it next day, because they were closing to refurb the place. Needless to say I didn't sleep a wink because it was too hot, too noisy, and the bed creaked so loudly, waking me up every time I moved. I called Expedia first thing the next day to complain and tell them I wanted to check out and find a different hotel, they were very helpful in getting the hotel to reimburse the additional 2 nights.
4 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Yuanqiu

Horrible summer stay with broken AC

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Windsor is old and located in the red zone area. Air conditioning was totally broken. The front desk kept saying they were trying to get it fixed. But it is never fixed. There was no fan in the room, so I had to stay there with 95 degrees. Don't pick this hotel as its service is bad. The second day I managed to call Hotels.com and get refund for the rest days. Then I moved to another hotel with AC. When I moved out from Hotel Windsor I was so happy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Run down and dirty.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Generally poor condition and run down. Air conditioner broken and management was completely uninterested in dealing with the issue. It was boiling. Would avoid this place.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic transport links, plenty of hotels nearby easy to find. it is to walk to all great locations in the city.
2 out of 5
by Gopal

Not as described in profile, poor value for money

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The lobby area and check-in was very pleasant, and most of the staff was friendly and welcoming. But the rooms were uncomfortably tiny, with cheap and run-down furnishing. Wifi connectivity was poor. The AC didn't work at all, despite it being really hot outside, and that made for uncomfortable nights. I was told only after checking in that the hotel is going to close down for a lengthy period very soon. That explained the poor state of facilities. But I felt cheated, since the hotels.com page for this hotel made no mention of this at all.