Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location -

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise level.
Location: Lots of local/historical attractions
Hotel has a good location right in the old city center. That makes it ideal. However, if you go ask for a room inside the interior or the building. there are a few rooms "outside" and my room had a generator next to it that turns on every 5-10 minutes that is annoying when you are trying to get some sleep. Not the 5 star hotel but if you're not picky it's a good location, decent accommodations and great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Bay, Ontario

Location, location,location! Very central to the

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I just loved the character of the hotel. I felt immersed in history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

room to hot no ac

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: room to hot no ac
room to hot no ac !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

100 + yr old

Posted Sep 28, 2017
It is amazing to get to stay in a hotel this old. Shame on the owner who is doing cheesy patches rather than keeping with quality that is without consideration for history.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be updated

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The rooms look like they were built in 1719 and not comfortable. I was very disappointed with the room I just went to another hotel even though I had already paid for it. There was no A/C and the rooms were hot. Just needs to be updated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx,

No a/c in room

Posted Aug 17, 2017
No a/c in room only 5 channels on tv bad signal
3 out of 5
by Jorge

Great location! Great price! Some mosquitoes!

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Pluses and minuses. The hotel has a charm to it. It's in an old building, perhaps as old as the palacio de gobierno it sits behind. It's one of those buildings with a fountained courtyard in the middle, with the rooms all accessible from there,and with lighting that's a bit darker than your average hotel. It's right at the heart of downtown Guadalajara, which is a big plus if you want to see the cathedral and the museums nearby (Cabañas is much recommended), and next to the Jalisco state government palace, which has some Orozco murals and some history in it. The hotel restaurant serves a yummy breakfast buffet that includes coffee and juice for 90 pesos, but there are cheaper a la carte options nearby incluiding Chai, Cafe Madrid and Croissants Alfredo (where the chocolate croissant is incomparable). But one big drawback that I found, at least in August, was the lack of screens on the windows. When we arrived late one night, we were excited to find our door/window opened right out into Maestranza street. Charming! The bad thing was that there were some mosquitoes in our room. I woke up with some bites in the morning, and when we told the hotel about the issue, they kindly offered to switch us to a different rooms. We checked out the options, but all the rooms were lacking in window screens. We kept our room and borrowed a mosquito-zapping racket from a family member. Nights were warm with no AC and closed windows to ward off mosquitoes. Can be a bargain, but be aware!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel with the broken elevator.

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: The clerks at the front desk should know what they’re talking about!
Location: Have no idea. Only slept there!
First of all the clerk at the desk upon checking in gave us the wrong information about our room. Then he proceeded to send us to a restaurant which was closed and when it opened the service and food were terrible. When we returned from having breakfast we were told by the same clerk that he had made a mistake and that my credit card had been charged. His offer to allow us to stay in the room the next day, an extra hour was literally a joke. Finally the room we were booked into was on the third floor. With the elevator broken we had to drag our luggage down three flights of stairs! It goes without saying that the experience was really bad!
4 out of 5
by Audel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by PAUL

Great location with history

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location in the heart of Guadalajara. Spacious rooms.