Ratings based on 632 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to shops and food

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Hard time checking out even with pymt by credit and cash
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Colonial style hotel ...we loved it

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We loved it. Buffet breakfast sitting under an umbrella patio. Taxi drives sitting in the corner of the hotel. We took 5 different tours, they used come and get us in the morning at the hotel. The hotel staff has tickets for the tours. Elevator in the hotell. They offer a parking around the corner of the hotel. Reataurants close by. I love the decorations at the hotel. Good price hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

Nice Hotel and very close to downtown

Posted May 31, 2017 on CheapTickets
Beautiful historical building, friendly staff and very close to the market and historical sites downtown you cant beat the price either... just keep in mind that its a building from the 1800s I loved it because it reminds me of my great grandmother's house
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calif

My trip to Guadalajara

Posted May 19, 2017
Excelent stay at the San Francisco Plaza. Friendly stuff, clean installations and very convenient.
5 out of 5
by Carlos

Old and rustic look, but beautiful !

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent place for the money! Beautiful architectural structure. Old but beautiful. Very pleasant personnel. Again... for the price, It CAN'T be beat!!
4 out of 5
by Nancy

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel under going renovations so didn't get the full experience. Room was basic. Price was right. Good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Doing construction but open old high ceiling place

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Nice courtyards, high ceilings. A bit echoy though. Listed at low price probably because of construction and then after reservation raised the price! ? Then got another email for low price. I don't know of this is them or the website. This comment will probably be edited out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Convenient, comfortable, affordable downtown hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenient location for visiting local cultural sites, restaurants, and shops. Affordable rates. All basic amenities provided.
Cons: Currently under renovation, which could get noisy at times. Also, would have loved an iron and ironing board in my room. :)
Location: Within walking distance of cultural sites, shops, restaurants/bars, and even Arena Coliseo (where I watched Lucha Libre on Tuesday night!)
Overall good quality for the price. Had to change rooms on arrival because of a plumbing problem in the bathroom of my initial unit, but the hotel accommodated the switch with no difficulties. My Spanish is limited and, while not all staff speak English, there was generally always someone around who could either speak English well enough or could understand my broken Spanglish. Some reviewers have commented negatively about the area of the city that the hotel is in, but I found it safer and cleaner than the downtown areas of most cities of comparable size that I've visited in other countries. The hotel has a restaurant that (as of the date of this posting) is open 8AM to 9:30PM for both dining-in and room service. Options were limited for vegan travelers like me, but there was definitely a good variety to appeal to visitors without dietary restrictions. For those interested in scheduling a day tour, you can choose one or more of the four options available for purchase from the front desk. The tour service will pick you up from and drop you off at the front door of the hotel. If you're looking for an affordable hotel within walking distance to some of the best activities Guadalajara has to offer, I would recommend giving this place a try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff. Excellent service.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Great looking rooms. Everything was new. Plenty of extra blankets and pillows. Great restaurant. Location not the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Handy Location in Guadalajara Historical District

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Good location, very nice staff.
Cons: Our bed could be better.
Location: The Catedral de Guadalajara and the long pedestrian mall is only 10 minutes away. Bus stops to access the Tlaquepaque Arts district are nearby.
With 75 rooms on 2 to 4 levels, Hotel San Francisco Plaza is deceptively large. It was established 30 years ago in what was once three residences. For that reason, it is built around four separate patios, three of which have fountains. All rooms are located around the perimeter of the patios and are accessed via hallways that are open to the patios on one side. The patios provide peaceful retreats from the busy city outside. Our room was fairly small but had a lovely small balcony overlooking a quiet patio. There were some renovations going on in early March 2017 but they were no bother as they only took place during daylight hours while we were away. Our room (#223) was recently renovated and had a modern bathroom with a large shower. Our bed was OK. WiFi access was good. We didn't get an included breakfast but there is a buffet breakfast available for purchase. The buffet is not cheap but worth checking out. Filling up there could tide one over until supper. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk to the Catedral de Guadalajara, the heart of the historical part of the city. We found the staff to be very polite and helpful and would stay there again if we return to Guadalajara.