Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

1.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by christine from peterborough canada

great location ---a bit hard to locate.

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed one night. Would stay there again. Internet says wi-fi and shuttle and discounts for local attractions. Did not speak good Spanish so may have missed some things but you need your own computer to use the internet, and no idea how to get the shuttle if it exists. The location was super, and the people there quick to remedy problems (like getting air conditioner to work, and tv to work,) Paid 36 dollars and great for a day or two if doing quick business down town or en route and want a clean place to do a down town tour.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Too Scared to Stay at Eloy Alfaro

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Expedia needs to check this place!
Location: Downtown in a bad neighborhood
I was told by a native Ecuadorian who grew up in the area not to stay in that part of town. But I checked with internet reviews and it seemed ok. When I called the hotel, no one spoke English and they could not understand my broken Spanish and just hung up on me twice. When I arrived in Guayaquil, I took a taxi to the hotel. The driver told me it was not a safe place to stay. Pulling up in front of the hotel, there were no lights on at 10:30 at night and other hotels on the way there were well lit up. When we pulled up 2 young men cam out to take my bags in, and a pick up truck pulled up near us, but not blocking the taxi, and 2 other men got out and stood by watching. The end of the street next to the hotel was blocked by a metal fence. Should I get out of the taxi and trust these 4 men, or run? I have stayed all over the world and only felt in danger a few times. This was one of the most scary experiences I have ever had.!
1 out of 5
by Jerold from Chicago, USA and Cuenca, Ecuador

Terrible experience

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Leaving!
Cons: Drop the listing.
Location: The picture was deceiving..The immediate area was filthy.
Originally reserved a room with queen sized bed, first given a room with 4 four bunk beds. Promised free airport transfer, then told it would be $20.00. Asked them to call a cab, they made as if they were calling, but did not . They made as if they called but then waited so,long, I had to acquiesce and agree to their demands because it because it was an hour left to catch an international flight. I had mentioned that the transfer was necessary when I checked in and again on the morning that I had to catch a 6:30 P.M. flight. There was no room wi fi, but they did have computers in the lobby. The pictures displayed of the facility were highly deceptive.The room also already had multi-legged guests, with antennae already occupying the room. I was very surprised that expedia would list such a facility.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

U get what u pay for

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels
Don't recommend at all!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel was converted from a hostel. Internet did not function well. TV has very poor picture. Air conditioning is very loud. Located in a poor area. Not good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Greenstone, ON, Canada

Outfit your Stay in Ecuador from Hotel Eloy Alfaro

Posted Apr 28, 2013
Pros: I loved the location ; the Staff and the sheer convenience of walking out the hotel door right into a flea market .
Cons: The shower and the drinking water is the same temperature ; You definitely no you are down town because it can get noisy .
Location: Every thing is within walking distance ; bank machines eateries buses what ever you want what ever you need , it's all right hear .
The Staff hear are very family oriented people ; It doesn't take long before you fit in weather you speak the language or not ; Silvia's Email is on their business card and though she needs a little time to understand English if you send her a email she will respond in a sought out English vocabulary that is flawless and answer all your concerns . Never once did I feel anything but safe hear ; The internet connection is excellent The rooms are well equipped with TV, air conditioning and the walls are equipped with one very good sized mirror that makes the room seem actually bigger then it is . What really makes this Hotel special is the management and if you are a non smoker as I am you will soon be impressed , no ashtrays anyplace ; Evan out side this Colonial style Hotel I did not see anyone smoking ; What I did see was a flea market were you could buy anything imaginable from Fresh fruit to grilled Ecuadorean delights , Clothing , cell phones , Jewelry Herbal remedies, pharmaceuticals Hardware and of course Babies needs . cross the Street head down Malecon to walk way beside the Bay watch fisherman in Dugout canoes , enjoy the eateries while sitting by the bay hear you can even enjoy Kentucky fried Chicken or visit a large Modern Mall were Visa is widely excepted , eat at Santay were they serve wonderfully prepared Ecuadorian food in a pleasant atmosphere served by well dressed waiters and yes they serve liqueur . Only a short distance from Eloy Alfaro
1 out of 5
by JOSE from Lima,Peru

malo

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
lo unico bueno es la ubicacion. Ofrecieron transporte del aereopuerto,falso.
2 out of 5
by Vitor Miguel Leandro Silv from Brasil

Hotel bem simples.

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
O hotel está localizado em uma área que não é bela. O hotel em si, é bem simples, não havia água quente, o ar-condicionado não funcionava, a luz do banheiro estava queimada. Os atendentes foram solícitos e bem humorados em minha chegada ao hotel, do atendimento não tenho do que reclamar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacasmayo. Peru

Cerca al malecon y comercios. Agradable

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Fueron 4 dias agradables en el dia atentos y prestos a atender las consultas y orientar al huesped
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogotá.

Muito bem localizado. Ruim para sair à noite.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Boa localização. Wifi mais ou menos. Pessoal do hotel solícitos e agradáveis.