Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, N.Y.

A family trip to the Galapagos

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The full breakfast was a treat.
Cons: More sitting room in the lobby
Location: Very central to the Malecon and Iguana Park. Lots of good restaurants near y
We stayed at the Palace a few days before our departure and on our return spent one more night before we flew out the next morning. We had a total of 5 rooms, including adjoining rooms for my son and wife with our two grandchildren 8 and 10. All the rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean. The entire staff was attentive and responsive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Loved the free breakfast.
The hotel is in a great location for tourist, the staff are pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel, minor improvements needed

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Stayed at the hotel for 3 days at the beginning of June. Great service, very clean room. The buffet was also good. Minor improvements: 1. The gym is very small. Definitely needs an improvement as it only has a treadmill, a bike and one machine. Does not have free weights. 2. The wifi was not that strong. It took a very long time to download a movie on my ipad. All in all, I recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thumbs up.

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very well run, friendly, in a location that's quick to hit the local sights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vilcabamba, Ecuador

we needed a plase to stay

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: breakfast, location
Cons: room size
nothing special, checked out Guayaquil. Will not live there.... :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, Ny

Great Hotel & Great Staff

Posted May 31, 2017
I stood there with my husband for a few days and the hotel was so great. The staff was overly friendly. They made sure that you okay. The bed and pillow was over the top. Their breakfast was so delicious. The great thing about this hotel that it's like two blocks away from el Malecón 2000 and other attractions. I would rate this hotel over 5 STARS. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much for everything. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Must stay.
4 out of 5
by James W.

Wild Ride

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
The first room had a verry heavy mold smell. The manager amswitchef my room immediately to an Executive sweet. Was verry good service. When leaving the hotel at night to go 5 blocks away a black cab with a heavy women took me for a 40 minute ride into not so nice area. When I threatened her with bodily harm after repeatedly asking to go to the Oro Verde hotel she finally turnef around and went to the hotel! THE Palace hotel should screen their cab company people better. I left the womans card with the Hotel desk and told her the story!
4 out of 5
by Ronald Lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Denver Colorado

Professional, Courteous Staff

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The service was outstanding!
Location: It is pretty centrally located to anything you may want to see. They will arrange for your taxi if you need one.
I had a really great experience at this hotel. The staff was very organized and efficient and made sure that I had everything that I needed. The room itself was actually bigger than I was expecting and was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was very good as well. Good food, reasonably priced. Same great service as the reception staff. If you prefer to eat someplace other than the hotel there are a huge amount of other options very close to the hotel. My wake up call was on time and my taxi arrived promptly at 4 am as promised. They even gave me a very unexpected breakfast to go package. It was a level of customer service that you do just not get in the United States and being an airline pilot I stay in a lot of hotels. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Three Day Stay

Posted May 4, 2017
Nicely located in a central city location, the Palace was a comfortable place to stay, it's a bit "old world", probably due for a face lift, but it has an endearing charm. Room was up on 5th floor, so very limited street noise. Air Con pumped away continuously, so Room temp/humidity were fine. Bed super comfortable. Breakfast could run low if you were a tad late however. Ate twice there for dinner and the quality of restaurant food was very good. You are 2 blocks from Malecon, 2 blocks from Parque Seminaria (Iguanas) so some sights are close. Plenty of staff always around at the front door to assist. All in all, quite satisfied.