Ratings based on 5,173 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Simple but accommodating

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff rather cold to me . They do their job but not enthusiastic about their job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel in Downtown, reasonably priced for solo

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Well appointed room, comfortable bed, coffee maker, baggage storage, helpful staff, easy check in/check out, quiet.
Cons: n/a
Location: Downtown, central city, easy walk to Tranquility Park, transport links etc, I walked to Discovery Park also. Plenty of food options nearby also.
Convenient location and easy walking distance to most things in Downtown. Also close to transport options including the free circuit bus. Well appointed room and good facilities like coffee etc in the lobby, and other facilities like fitness centre etc that I didn't have time to use. Baggage storage available between check out and shuttle pick up after a day out sightseeing. Friendly and helpful staff. A great place for a solo traveller.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Cons: continental breakfast
small room but clean and comfortable, check in and check out was simple using the kiosks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good value, central, comfortable

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Nice & clean room. Coffee machine not working in my room, but excellent coffee machine in lobby with free fruits & snacks. It is also Centrally located, short walk to shops, airport metro express bus stops at Milam & Rusk Street which is 5 mins walk to hotel. We also took 249 bus to the NASA Space Centre. Supply bottle to fill with drinking water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

walk to Toyota Arena and Minute Maid Stadium

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good local
Cons: Parking rate for guests is $29.00 USD per day, a bit much given you are already payed nag a room rate
Free fill-your-own water bottle station has still and sparkling water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Beautiful Hotel. .

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Fully renovated. Comfortable bed, and quiet room. Great food and bar service
Cons: Parking
Location: Lots of eateries and bars close by.
Fully renovated. Comfortable bed, and quiet room. Great food and bar service. Parking was expensive, but the only negative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin Tx

Historical and Hi Tech.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Beautiful building inside and out. Turn of the century ballroom feel with futuristic hi tech. 1) Booked online 2) No receipt printout necessary 3) Ballet available 24hrs 4) Text 15 minutes ahead of time and you get a text when ready with 5 minute window to pick up. 6) Check-In was impressive -CC swipe, confirm the ittenanary and room card keys were dispensed. 7) Not only do you need your key card for your room but elevator too! Wow 8) Free recycled empty water bottles and you fill them with clean cold water! OMG :) 9) koenig coffee maker in your room. 10) TV-has tons cable channels 11) All the amenities a princess can ask for :) Big Comfy Bid with Big Comfy pillows. Oh my. 12) Check out was a breeze\fast I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston tx

Close to everything downtown.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We enjoy staying at this hotel. Checked in and run had issues. They upgraded us right away. Very nice about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for a night near entertainment spots downtown

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The hotel is in a historic building and that was charming. It was also very close to entertainment and the Metro Rail.
Cons: Customer service. While checking out was convenient using the computers, I feel that guests should be greeted by humans when checking in to a hotel.
Location: We were in town for my daughter's college orientation and the hotel was very close to U of H.
Finding the hotel was not difficult, but finding the entrance proved to be a challenge. With no onsite parking, we had to park in the street and unload. Once inside the VERY small, the young lady at the "front desk" failed to acknowledge we were there. After standing there for more than a few moments, I noticed computer stands behind me and asked her if I should use those to check in. She replied yes and walked into the back. There was a computer error, so I had to stand at the front desk until another lady came out and completed our check in and gave us keys. Our room was VERY small and the cable stopped working that night and never came back on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Good bargain downtown

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Nicely re-done old building. Friendly staff. Easy valet parking. We liked the cold water with bottles dispenser just outside our room--but they ran ou
Cons: Better training for restaurant staff. Bunch of untrained rookies. Does not leave good impression.
Location: see above.
I had searched online for "Hotel near Museum of Fine Arts. We came to see the Mexican Art Exhibit. Site said the hotel was "one block from museum." Actually was a few miles away. WE had a rental car, so it was a good central location to explore Houston.