Ratings based on 3,337 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa canada

Great location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Obviously things were a bit crazy during my stay. Staff was thin and facilities not all open as construction was ongoing as well. Staff weren't all that friendly but they were stressed and tired. Hotel location is amazing. Short walk to great places to eat and drink on Main St and also to Minute Maid Park. I would stay there again hopefully during less stressful times in Houston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

great location and hospitality

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The Magnolia is currently being renovated, which only affected my stay aesthetically, and only on arrival. It is located in the downtown neighborhood, near theatres, restaurants and shops. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The complimentary body cream had been opened and not replenished; a minor oversight, and complimentary shampoo, hair conditioner, and body wash are available inside the bathtub/shower. My room included a soaking tub/shower combo. Beautiful; however, accessibility requires steady legs to step into and out of the tub. A bar is available to help with this. Stocked minibar. Prices are double than grocery stores, yet concurrent with most hotels (bottle of VOS water is $4.00).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyler, TX

Good hotel close to the arts

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Location: Lots of nice restaurants, theaters in walking distance
Can't wait to see the complete redo! Great staff, great location, very pleasant stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mequon

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Hotel was remodeling but the lounge and workout faicitity was nice. I would definitely recommend this place for a weekend get away
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Overall a bit disappointed. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, it's a good location, but the construction and sub-par amenities took away from the experience. Also the hotel room was not very clean...we even found personal items left over from the previous occupants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,Canada

pleasant ,helpful staff, good location,comfortable

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: See above
Location: Walking distance to Minute Maid Park, Convention Centre ,downtown ,the Aquarium and many other tourist attractions.
We enjoyed staying here. We found the staff most helpful and the hotel was accessable to downtown and the Minute Maid park for our games that we had attended. We were treated to a free glass of Sangria and wine and there were cookies ,coffee,tea available to us daily. The rooms were comfortable . We had, at our convenience ,a free shuttle to nearby locations provided by the hotel. Renovations were ongoing but did not interfere with our stay. Generally a pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Renton, WA

Under Construction but Cute!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We stayed for a wedding. The semi-irritating part was that there was no fridge in the room. When I called to ask they said they'd get back to me about one and then didn't. Normally I wouldn't care but I had milk for my toddler. It is under construction but it's cute! The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. The elevators are small though and it was difficult to get our cart downstairs. Other than that, check them out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Nice for the price!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Nice hotel. The remodel was not a bother. The location was good. Room was great. The room service was good too. Like the free Sangria at the bar even though I did not use it. The lobby/restaurant was setup nice too. My only issue was the shuttle, it was not as reliable as I would have liked it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Under Renovatio

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The lounge, lobby and floors 1-3 were under renovation during our last stay. Magnolia has changed offering of a free, full breakfast buffet to free danish. Unfortunate considering few eateries in the vicinity are open during weekends. Valet service was a nightmare valet staff not in any particular rush to get guest booked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Middle of where we went

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Only a few blocks from Astros, Aquarium , Main Steeet, Green Zone , etc