Ratings based on 866 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, tx

First stay

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Check in was fast! Room was roomy, plus my bed and pillows, huge restroom with double sinks. Toilet closed off with a door. Loved this Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Comfy place. Very convenient to where my people were at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Clean, comfortable and close

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Stayed here while attending Quilt Festival at convention center. Room was very comfortable, within walking distance and the staff was very gracious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location great staff

Posted Nov 3, 2017
This place was brilliant, 50 meters from Astros stadium what could be bettet
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Just disappointing

Posted Nov 2, 2017
I like westins but this is the worst I’ve stayed at. I called weeks before arriving to request a twin not king - no problem, I was told. I arrived and nothing had been done. Can you do anything? “No... It’s the World Series”...right but that doesn’t change the fact that this was arranged weeks ago? “Yeah...but it’s the World Series...if you’d booked direct rather than through Expedia, it would be different. Every interaction was like this? Can I order X from room service? “No...I don’t think that’s available right now”. I can’t seem to print from your Lobby workstation? “I’m not sure printing is available right now!”. Can you recommend any local bars? “Um, I’m not sure I can say”. Can I stay an extra night? “Sure, it’s $300” ...Actually I’ve been able to change my flight, can I get a late checkout? “Oh no, we’re fully booked”....but you just said - never mind! Exhausting when a hotel makes things so difficult. And the fact that the World Series is on just doesn’t cut it. really poor experience. The Expedia booking seemed to be mentioned frequently as the reason why nothing could be done. The room was awful too - small and inward looking to the lobby which was noisy and incredibly dark....of course no point in even asking for a change. Gym facilities poor too. Final note that some of the staff were great - very friendly and seemed really eager to help almost like they were embarrassed by their colleagues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, First of all I would like to take the time to thank you for sharing your thoughts and your experience. I am disappointed to hear the feedback from you. I feel as though the expectation was not set right to begin with. I am uncertain who your initial point of contact was. We do not have any rooms with twin size beds. I sincerely apologize for our shortcomings during your stay with us. I can assure you that I have addressed many of the issues with resolve. Sincerely, Chris Ziadie General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to ballpark

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Poor restaurant for large hotel. No staff to take bags to room
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and for bringing your experience to our attention. I apologize for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take these matters very seriously. We will share your message appropriately within our organization. Sincerely, Chris Ziadie General Manager The Westin Houston Downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

Across the street from Minute Maid Ballpark

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location, clean & modern.
Cons: Nothing I'm aware o.f
Location: Across the street from Minute Maid Ballpark. Close to nice restaurants, bars & shopping.
We stayed at the Westin while attending the World Series in downtown Houston. We stayed here once before when attending a ballgame. It is just a walk across the street to the stadium with no driving or parking hassles. The hotel is in excellent condition. This time was little noisy (during the World Series) which is to be expected. Our room was on the second level next to the open atrium above the lobby bar, which was packed & loud until 2:00 AM. We ran the fan on our HVAC unit to drown out the celebrators. All in all, it's a great location for the ballpark and very high end.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Either run a hotel or run a club. You can't have it both ways.
My son and I stayed at the hotel for game 3 of the World Series. After the game, the hotel became a frat party until 2 am. The hotel is situated such that half of the rooms face the atrium where the bar is located. It seems Westin is more interested in selling alcohol than providing a place to sleep. Additionally, the room next door had their TV blaring until 5 am. At 3 am I called the operator to have security check it out. The security guard came up, banged on the door for 15 minutes and left. I'm guessing the occupant was passed out drunk with the TV on. Clearly, the worst hotel stay I've experienced since college when I was in Fort Lauderdale for spring break over 30 years ago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding these issues. You shared an experience that was disappointing to read, verbalize with my team and does not reflect our culture. On behalf of my team, I sincerely apologize for our shortcomings. I can assure you that I have addressed the matter with resolve. We hope you do choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to Houston. Sincerely, Chris Ziadie General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

Great location downtown

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, clean, great rooms
This hotel is wonderful! Great atmosphere, right across from the Astro's stadium and very accommodating. Hotel staff is friendly and the rooms are incredibly comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Modern architecture inside and out, for my tastes. Location in downtown area fit in well, and was convenient for our required activities.
Cons: Disappointed that for the room rates charged that wi-fi in the room was still additional.
It was pleasant; The valet service was commendable.