Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upland, Indiana

48 Hours IN ...

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Gary is a very welcoming host, his house is very charming and one feels very comfortable. The food is great, a variety and delicious (cookies, too!)
Cons: A step stool for the bed - its height is too tall!
Location: Next door to Indy - walkable as well as conveniently located.
Enjoyed the bridal suite (anniversary celebration) and being a tourist in Indy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thanks for the nice words. When I bought the new mattress recently, somehow it eluded me that it was so thick that it would make it difficult for shorter people to climb in. I will get the step stool. Thanks for your suggestion. Gary
5 out of 5
by Edward

Great experience!

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Innkeeper/owner very friendly and customer-focused. He met us at the site and gave us a personal tour upon arrival. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning as good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Thanks for the nice review. I work hard to make sure my guests have a great experience and feel rejuvenated by the time they leave me. Come back soon, please. Gary
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old B & B in a nice neighbourhood

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Cleaning
Very nice place but room needs to be cleaner. Excellent breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
So sorry something wasn't up to your standards because we are diligent in trying to stay ahead of the pack in demanding absolute cleanliness. Was it something specific we missed? Thanks for the feedback. Gary
5 out of 5
by Jenny

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place, old style but lovely. Staff were super nice and accommodating!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Thanks for the review. Using the word "lovely" was very nice but frankly "old style" suits me even more. I truly want this 1885 mansion to be an escape from the modern world though naturally some amenities need to be completely up-to-date such as bathrooms, lighting, air conditioning, etc. Come back soon. Thanks again. Gary
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very personal treatment

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
The owner made a point to learn everyone's first name and to introduce guests to each other at breakfast. He personally prepared the breakfast every day with a wide variety of foods. Guests could choose their time for breakfast and I could get breakfast at the time I needed 6:30 even on weekends. He also provided what he called a "snack bar" that included several different kinds of home-made cookies, soft drinks, chips, nuts, and microwave popcorn, available around the clock for no extra charge. Everything that a person might need had been thought of. For example, in one of the drawers in my room was a baggie containing a tampon and a mini pad. I was there during a heat wave, and a large standing fan kept me comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable, allowing for a good night's sleep. It was also very quiet. For people who like to walk, it is a pleasant walk from this B&B (between 1.5 and 2 miles) to the convention center, past many interesting monuments in downtown Indianapolis. The walk from downtown to this B&B goes through safe-feeling neighborhoods. One thing to note: if you book through hotels.com, you do not receive the information necessary to arrange for check-in. The confirmation just says you have to call to arrange for check-in, but hotels.com never sends the number that you need to call. You have to go to the B&B website to get the number.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words. I try to make this a wonderful experience for every single guest that stays here. It's sure nice when someone notices as thoroughly as you did. Hope you'll come back soon! Gary A. Hofmeister Owner/Innkeeper
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location with wonderful hospitality!

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hospitality from Gary Hofmeister, the owner was very much appreciated. This is a wonderful place to stay if looking for something a little different than hotel stay. The location to Mass Avenue dining and fun is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Thanks so much for being with us. Hope to see you again! Gary
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Amber

Beautiful place

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic B&B, Gary is a lovely host who takes the utmost care with each individual guest. I'd recommend staying here to anyone! We loved the snack bar, breakfast was great, and the location was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017
Amber, Thanks so much for the nice words. You were a pleasure to serve and look forward to having you back again! Gary
5 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and peaceful

Posted Apr 23, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at Northside. I picked out a wonderful room that was just right for me. The breakfast had so many choices to eat, it was hard to choose. My host Gary had is hands full but never complained. Im going to be back next year.