Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice hotel close to everything downtown

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Great space for a family to be close to other things downtown. The hotel and decor is a bit dated, but nothing major. The only concern was that there was a drawer in our room that had not been cleaned out from a previous guest, so it didn't feel as clean as it could have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Tonya, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I apologize that your experience was anything less than exceptional. I have shared your notes with the appropriate teams to address opportunities. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we can provide you with a five star experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Hotel staff was very accommodating to our wishes. Lovely view looking out on the canal. Very comfortable and quite spacious room. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Very centrally located to downtown. Excellent surface parking options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're so happy to know it was a great hotel experience for you! We enjoyed your visit and welcome you whenever you are back in Indianapolis again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from greencastle IN

check your bank accounts before leaving

Posted Aug 28, 2017
booked thru expedia. Went to check in they were going to charge me again for room I had allready paid for. Told them about my reservation on expedia. Finally found my reservation snd wanted a card on file for incidentals which is fine I asked the man again you are not charging me for another night correct. O no we won't charge this card. Wake up next day check my bank account.As I slept they made 2 transaction one for $120 and one for $50. $170 total thats more than I paid for the one night . Went to front desk to ask about charges . Was told after several minutes of looking into it that this has never happened before and she didn't know why it happene Never once telling me why I was charged not once but twice . She then proceeded to say I have stoped the transactions so it won't come out of your bank account. Well it had allready came out now I have to wait 3-5 days to get money back . In the mean time if I have any overdraft fees or bounced checks then it's not there fault and they can't help with that. So they took money from my account and now all of a sudden it's my fault. So do yourself a favor if u ever stay here male sure u check your bank account before checking out You will thank me later
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Sarah B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us. We use feedback from our guests to improve our guest service. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the hold on your card. I believe we spoke before regarding this and I want to apologize once again. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the Indianapolis area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the Canal

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was the usual fare. There was an evening dessert bar that was great. The hotel opened right onto the canal walk.
Cons: nothing that I can think of
Location: see above
We were there for the DCI competition. The hotel was a short 5 minute walk from the practice field and about a 20 minute walk from Lucas Oil Stadium. There was a nearby CVS store for personal needs within a few minutes walk. We could walk to tons of restaurants. Lots of museums to visit within walking. You can rent bikes, paddle boats, or take a gondola ride on the canal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location! Thank you for the five star review. We hope to welcome you back again on future visits to Indy!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bartlett, TN

Disappointed

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: Better housekeeping...
Location: Very convenient for my visit.
The housekeeping was inadequate. The furnator not cleaned or dusted off. I had to bring the front desk staff to come see and she cleaned off furniture. The sofa was stained I didn't feel comfortable sitting on it and I didn't. The carpets throughout is dirty and stained. Microwave I cleaned off a coffee cup was nasty.... yes the canal view was to only thing great. But I'm so.... disappointed in Marriott residence inn. My family often stay at Marriott hotels and usually pleased. But this was a total surprise . I'm thinking about complaining to corporate office.... Please get housekeeping in order... Rm 101
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Sarah B., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us. We use feedback from our guests to improve our guest service. I apologize for the cleanliness issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We will be sure to speak with the housekeeping department to ensure that this was an isolated issue. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the Indianapolis area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing place!

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Love the location on the canal. Great variety offered for breakfast each day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
We're happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast selection and our location! Thank you for the five star review. We hope to welcome you back again on future visits to Indy!
4 out of 5
by Julie

Comfortable bed, dirty floors, beautiful canal

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
When scheduling our stay in Indianapolis, we going back and forth between two choices. In the end we chose the Residence Inn because it had everything we wanted: a room with a kitchen, a pool, a hot tub, and a free breakfast. When we arrived at our room, the kitchen area looked a bit shabbier than it had in the pictures on the website. However, the couch, desk area, and bed were nice. The bed was super comfortable! I had a major problem with the bathroom though. Although the tub and toilet were clean, there were multiple body hairs on the floor. This was just unacceptable to me. We did not notify the front desk because it was late, and we wanted to take a dip in the pool before going to bed. We hurried to the pool, only to find that it and the hot tub were closed for maintenance for the duration of our stay. We were really, really disappointed, as that was a huge factor in our choice to stay at the Residence. The message on the door stated we could use the pool across the parking lot at the Courtyard by Marriott, which we did the following morning. Unfortunately, that pool's hot tub was closed, and the pool was too cloudy to see the bottom. We realized we were not going to be swimming during our vacation, and we were very sad. After that we went to breakfast, but there was nothing there that appealed to me the whole time we were there. Thankfully, I could make breakfast in our room. The canal was the saving grace of our stay! We walked there every day, and loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the cleanliness of the bathroom. I do want to extend our sincerest apologies in regards to the pool and hot tub being closed. Unfortunately, in order to maintain our amenities and provide the best service for our guests, we must perform preventative maintenance which forces us to close during certain time periods. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Indianapolis. Sincerely, Sarah Becker Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
by William

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017
William, We're happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel! Thank you for the 5 star review. We'd love to welcome you back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive but has much to offer

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
I have a hard time paying that much for any hotel room, then add even more for parking, but location, location, location does matter! We arrived a bit later than we'd planned, but with a noon checkout we had a good (included) breakfast and walked the full loop around the canal before cleaning-up and hitting the road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location! We strive to maintain one of the most competitive pricing on our products and services in the area, and our goal is to always provide the best possible service our guests come to expect and deserve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again on future visits to Indy!
5 out of 5
by Linda

A good choice

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
We were comfortable and enjoyed the room overlooking the canal. The breakfast was good - better than the typical motel continental offering. There were a couple of minor maintenance things to which they quickly responded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017
Linda, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're so happy to know it was a great hotel experience for you overall. We enjoyed your visit and welcome you back whenever you are in Indianapolis again.