Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO HOT WATER NO INTERNET Will NEVER stay again.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Retro look to the lower levels.
Cons: Hot water would be nice, internet would be nice, overall condition of the room needs to be inmproved.
First thing arriving we have our cooler that we brought checked. We were told we can not bring in alcohol. That is by far the dumbest rule I have ever had in all the hotels I have ever stayed with. So among the soda, water, juice, and sandwiches we had six beers that we had to "coat check" as I, a 29 y/o male, am not allowed to have. There is no fridge in the room which is why we had the cooler. So we get to our room and find out the internet is not working. We check the front desk and are informed the internet is out and they do not know what is wrong. So why the hell did you not tell us that when you told us the internet password so we wouldn't have to spend the next 10 min trying to connect to it? So anyway, the internet does not get fixed for the entire stay. Great fun. Now for the best surprise. NO HOT WATER!!! The water never got past luke warm. It took six min for the water to get past freezing (and yes I actually timed it because it took so long). The luke warm water would not even last as long as it took it to warm up and would randomly change temps (warm, cold, warm again). So one is forced to speed shower and end it with something similar to a polar plunge while constantly adjusting it. This happened morning and night, no difference. The trim/paint/grout work was surprisingly bad in the room. I never thought I would complain about grout work before this stay. I would have asked for a LARGE discount had I not already made the mistake of paying through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Suited my needs and was close to my destination. Charming older facility.
3 out of 5
by Deborah

Great staff & location.

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
It's strange to stay at a hotel where I have to follow a dress code to use amenties like the lobby or bar area so that's probably why we won't stay again. And, being right on Monument Circle meant it was still noisy at 2AM with motorcycles and drunks. I don't think windows exist that can drown out that noise. The staff was super nice and the rooms were perfectly clean.
5 out of 5
by KH

Convenient and historic

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Centrally located hotel with a historic atmosphere. Housekeeping was a little lax on bathroom cleaning but overall the staff was very good.
2 out of 5
by Danna

Don't bother

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hot water handle broken and had to use pliers from maintenance to use shower. Toilet was 5 inches from wall which made it difficult to go to the restroom comfortably. Half used water bottle under corner if bed on check-in so the room was supposedly clean. You can't bring in your own alcohol. They check your cooler. Desk drawer broken.....seemed like something's were worn down. Lobby beautiful and valet nice. Won't ever stay again.
1 out of 5
by Malia

Worst Hotel Ever!!!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Went to Indianapolis for a motorcycle race at Lucas Oil Stadium. Stayed at The Columbia Club since the price was under the other hotels - $190.00. The lobby of this hotel was nice with old woodwork and a lot of history. The room had cracks in the walls, stains on the floor, and when we turned on the shower brown water came out!!!!! I feel like we should be refunded for this stay!!! DO SOME UPDATES TO THE ROOMS PLEASE. And FYI -I never give a bad review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Close to field house

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Old, but adequate for the one night we were there, need to except cash for meals and parking
1 out of 5
by Melvin

Bad stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
When you walk into the lobby this place was absolutely amazing but when we got on the guest floors it was very old and not appealing. The room was very old and everything was loud. If someone got up to use the bathroom you woke anyone else in the room. The shower was very small. I had to stand outside the shower to actually wash. The water was very touchy it went from very hot to very cold with just a touch. When you finally got it decent to shower to water kept going from very hot to very cold. We actually skipped showers one day just to stay away from dealing with the water. Only view we had was of the parking garage. At least I could check to make sure my car was ok. After taxes I spent about $150 a night too much for this room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. If I had a choice of staying here for $50 a night or at a super 8 for $100 a night I would pay the extra. I am not one to complain much and I usually never write a negative review but this was my worse hotel stay ever. My wife was even surprised that I was saying anything about this stay because she knows I adapt and go with the flow so when I say something negative you know it was bad.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful historic hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: I love historic hotels and this was beautiful
We stayed for an event at the convention center. Easy walk. The only thing I didn't know in advance was the policy about no outside food or drink.