Ratings based on 1,951 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lexington Hotel, just good enough.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The rooms were clean and spacious. The décor was great.
Cons: Having more than one person on the desk, or having staff in back answering the phones instead of desk staff.
Location: The location was very close to much that is happening in Downtown.
To start off with only one person at the desk at the desk made check in and check out longer than necessary. The Hotel and its environs are getting a much needed renovation and facelift. Once renovations are done this will be a great place to stay on the river. The staff in the bar and in the café were very nice. The hotel room its self was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The large bathroom with enclosed shower was a welcome sight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much and we are super excited about the renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Nice enough. Laid out kinda strangely but we found our way around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks a million for your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Close to river

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Water taxi information could be better
The staff didn't know about the skyway being down at the convention center...so we had to drive everyday. Otherwise they were helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and unfortunately, the city did not notify us about the monorail being down for maintenance. I am sure you can understand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great for going to Jags game

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Clean and comfortable. Food we ordered at lounge was very good (burger/sandwich) . They provide car service to Jags game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so pleased you enjoyed the game and The Lexington. Please come and see us again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Not what I expected

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Advertise ALL fees (i.e. parking fee) associated with room at time of booking.
Location: Nothing interesting to do nearby. No places to eat nearby except for hotel restaurant and one other expensive one.
This hotel was just an average hotel. Nothing like I expected for a Hotel & Conference Center. There is a "Parking Fee" that is not mentioned until you check in and the self park parking lot is not lighted; this fee should be included in the room rate or it should be mentioned at the time of booking and not at the time of check-in. The pool deck is open 24/7 but you cannot swim in pool after dark. There is nothing to do close by and there are no places close by to eat except for the hotel restaurant and one upscale restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ken, Parking is listed on Expedia's web site and I apologize if you missed it. There are multiple restaurants, gastro-pubs, etc... within walking distance of the hotel. The front desk staff has a list of those places for you. Please come and see us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marianna, Florida

Tim & Faith concert

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Last minute booking after Hurricane Irma damaged the state park where we were going to RV. They were updating the hotel so alot of construction was going on. Our room was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff were great and helpful. We were 10 minutes from the concert. The hotel allowed us to enjoy a great concert with a last minute booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
You Rock and we are so pleased you had an amazing stay. We hope you come back for the next concert in Jax and stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Ok hotel. Room wasn't very clean.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The hotel is alright. My first room I was assigned to was very dirty with stuff all over the floor and chairs. Also my TV wasn't working. Eventually I had to move rooms to one that had a working TV. The second room was a lot better in terms of cleanliness, but was missing a pillow from the bed. So again had to retrieve that from the front desk. The staff was ok. Didn't smile or greet you when you walk in, they just kinda stared. Bed was comfy though! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize that we had a TV outage. I can assure you it was corrected in the most expeditious manner. We hope to see you soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL'

Posted Sep 11, 2017
TV not working, microwave missing, no safety bars in bathroom. Overall not ready to be rented. Was not informed at time of booking. Charged full price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Herbert, I am sorry about the TV issues we are having and we have done everything to get this straightened out. If you were not in a handicap room, there would be no shower bar and we do not have microwaves in our rooms, as a listed amenity. I apologize.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Hotel personnel very rude with terrible attitude against the customer. My CC was showing hotel charges way over my hotel bill, when I reported this issue to the lady on reception she told me there were no overcharges even seeing the charges on my CC account. When I insisted, showing the charges on my CC she started yelling at me in a very rude and offensive manner, then the security guard came and ask us to leave the premises. I will never come back to this hotel, nor recomend it. They have lack of respect for the customers and if you try to complain they be unrespectul and trow you out of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Luis, The additional charges were not actual charges. It was a pending charge for your incidentals that your bank releases back to you after a few days. I apologize for the inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Smyrna Beach, FL

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Very good and near my Hospital. A beautiful plush room and clean as a whistle !!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
So pleased to hear that Boni and happy to accommodate you...