Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The location is very central to Juneau, and some rooms on the upper floors had a view of the harbor.
Cons: The staff seemed rather too busy to answer questions or make suggestions, but then there were two groups gathered there for the night.
The Baranof Hotel was renovating the dining room, it seems, and we had difficulty finding an alternate place for dinner, so we chose the bar. The food was acceptable, the surroundings a bit noisy, but not bad. The room was well-equipped and clean and we spent a comfortable night there. The Baranof is an older hotel, but well-kept.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Radiator heat will keep you up all night

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The hotel is old, but remodeled nicely. Let's face it, the only purpose of a hotel room is a place to sleep. If you are deaf, it might work out ok. The old broiler system heat with radiators sound like someone hammering on iron pipes in your room ALL through the night. Seriously worst night of sleep ever. Stay someplace else, just come here for dinner so you can appreciate the boutique historical hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Mgr, Hotel Management
I hope you let the front desk know. We do have boilers, however, the sounds that you heard are not normal. I hope our maintenance staff corrected the issue for you. Thank you for being our geust
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and old, resting on tourism

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: total remodel and training.
no air con, city city noise and smell comes in. bedding is not good, rather dirty. they were under construction right in the middle of busy season. Too expensive. no charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Checked in early. Good location

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Nice older hotel in the heart of the city. We got to check in early which was nice since we had just gotten off of the ferry. The hotel is nicely redone and only noticeably older because of the doors in the room with their glass knobs. Otherwise it very modern with modern conveniences. In room coffee but a coffee shop next door with wonderful baked goods. We visited the Mendenhall glacier and Nugget waterfall. We also went on a whale watch which I would skip if you done this before. The Glacier is free and there is good transportation to it. Very much worth the trip. There are trails for hiking, streams with salmon and you might see a bear. We didn't but the ranger said that they have come to the stream with cubs in tow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay in Juneau

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This was my second time staying at the Westmark Baranof Hotel. I was there 2 months ago, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Juneau. Great people work here, including the concierge, Keli. Our rooms were clean, there's a great coffee shop in the hotel, and it's walking distance to everything. It was a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

The rooms are just too small.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Staff and restaurant.
Cons: The building is just old.
Location: It is on the main shopping street with a distillery and great sporting goods store across the street.
The staff was helpful. The maids were great. The restaurant was also good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted May 23, 2017
It was great to be able to walk to many places from our hotel. Easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel in a central location.

Posted May 23, 2017
We frequently stay at the Baranof. Wonderful staff and a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Close to everything

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, friendliness of the check-in staff, reasonable rates for the "off" season.
Cons: A more cheerful morning cafe waiter?
Location: Tons of shopping. Unfortunately I was there on a Sunday when there were no cruise ships so all the cool shops were closed.
Since I live and travel in Alaska, I was not disappointed with the conditions of the hotel. I see previous posters complained about how dated their room was and that the elevator made funny noises. I feel it adds character, and I was quite delighted by the ambiance here. I think it's a charming hotel and I thought the rate for the king-sized bed suite was quite reasonable. I will be back for another stay in a couple weeks so I can do some serious shopping at the Native American art shops. The staff was great, except the waiter in the cafe was a bit dour. I loved the original oils in the lobby, and the lovely hanging baskets along the sidewalk. I look forward to my next stay.
4 out of 5
by Jerry

April 2017 hotel stay.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel room was very warm. I had to open the window. The walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbors conversations. The two ladies at the front desk could not be any nicer. They are a real asset to the hotel. I am not sure I would stay here again.