Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Bar/restaurant always too dark. Staff helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Convenient hotel in Downtown, Juneau near a lot.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
My stay at the Baranof was okay. PROS: The view outside my window was nice. The hotel is clean and the cafe and restaurant downstairs in the lobby were convenient. CONS: The flush of the toilet was loud enough to be heard through the walls and the key card can be a struggle. Also, I wished the hotel was more accommodating as I missed my connection flight into Juneau from Seattle due to airline delays and instead of extending my stay a day, the hotel decided to check me in on the first night I wasn't even there after I called them to explain the situation. However, the service I received from the front desk receptionist, Bella was truly above and beyond. Bella was wonderful, pleasant, understanding, and kinder than most people I come across when going on vacation. She made my visit in Juneau that much more memorable and if I were to recommend this hotel in the future to family and friends it would be because she works there. Bella, thank you for your hospitality and generosity, you definitely knew how to make us feel welcomed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food was great

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Hotel is old and needs a facelift. Rooms were clean, but the Lobby was so blah. The lounge and restaurant were wonderful and the location makes up for everything else!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: Update the rooms! increase acoustics between rooms and around door to hallway.
Location: Great location, centrally located.
Paper thin walls, bad customer service, sleepless uncomfortable night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old and historic hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It is conveniently located within walking distance of the center of the town; this helps quite a bit when it rains (which is very frequently).
Cons: The appearance of the public rooms
Location: The town is within of 5 minutes walking
Old facility with history. The staff is helpful and friendly. The public rooms and the breakfast lunch restaurant could use some freshening up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Nice location and very nice lobby. Rooms were clean and comfortable although small-ish.
Location: Easy walk to all of Juneau's downtown.
We stayed here for 3 nights prior to embarkation on a small cruise. Comfortable and clean. Our room, unfortunately was just outside of the elevator and we were disturbed by inconsiderate guest noise at all hours. Can't really blame the hotel for this. Hotel staff was very courteous in allowing early check -in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Not the best but it was okay.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Youre basicaly on your own.- When i checked in at the hotel, the person in the front desk just handed me my key room and thats it- BYE. The room at night got really cold and the heater didnt work. The room cleaning is great, they will stop by your room 2 times a day. Room service? I never got it. I simple went out side to get food because i dont think the hotel had food inside. I called room servive and a women answer the phone and i asked her if they were serving food she said "Theres a vending machine in your floor". i give the hotel 2.5-3 stars
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

avoid this hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Very little
Cons: Start with the staff
The staff at check in didn't seem to care. Our room wasn't ready until 1 1/2 hours after check in time. The staff kept telling us that our reservation was made through Expedia, as if we were second class. We believe they were giving rooms to people who hadn't booked through Expedia ahead of those used a prepaid service. When we got to the room, it was old and tired. The furniture was worn and the bed linens looked like someone had already slept in them and they hadn't been changed. Probably the worst hotel experience I've had in years.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The location is very central to Juneau, and some rooms on the upper floors had a view of the harbor.
Cons: The staff seemed rather too busy to answer questions or make suggestions, but then there were two groups gathered there for the night.
The Baranof Hotel was renovating the dining room, it seems, and we had difficulty finding an alternate place for dinner, so we chose the bar. The food was acceptable, the surroundings a bit noisy, but not bad. The room was well-equipped and clean and we spent a comfortable night there. The Baranof is an older hotel, but well-kept.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Radiator heat will keep you up all night

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The hotel is old, but remodeled nicely. Let's face it, the only purpose of a hotel room is a place to sleep. If you are deaf, it might work out ok. The old broiler system heat with radiators sound like someone hammering on iron pipes in your room ALL through the night. Seriously worst night of sleep ever. Stay someplace else, just come here for dinner so you can appreciate the boutique historical hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Mgr, Hotel Management
I hope you let the front desk know. We do have boilers, however, the sounds that you heard are not normal. I hope our maintenance staff corrected the issue for you. Thank you for being our geust