Ratings based on 588 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, historic hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The location
Cons: Refrigerator in room, floor vacuumed
Location: Great location! Short walking distance to P & L district and short cab ride to Crown Center, Plaza, etc.
Room wasn't vacuumed, door handle was stuck and extremely hard to open, HVAC issues - room was either too hot or too cold, couldn't regulate temp, no refrigerator in the room, no valet parking and only a few spots out front to load/unload. Other than these minor things, the hotel is very pretty, great location to P & L district, nice restoration of a historic hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Miesha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are working to fix these issues. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great location in the heart of the city

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, big rooms.
Cons: I found the fragrance in the lobby a bit overpowering.
We wanted to be able to walk to the convention center as well as the Sprint Center and it was ideally situated to have less than a 5 minute walk to both.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Miesha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Room not clean

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Upon taking a shower, we discovered a pile of hair in the drain of the shower and a used hair tie behind the faucet of the sink. The staff came up immediately to clean the hair out and comped us breakfast in the morning. This begs the question if the room was actually cleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Miesha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We sincerely apologize. We are working to make sure this does not happen in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Great and convenient hotel inside the city

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Downtown so everything was walking distance. Staff was nice and helpful. Our 1 king bed room was a nice size. Bathroom was really nice.
Cons: Thermostat. Night got way too cold since the sensor has to pick up on movement.
Awesome staff. We did have an unscheduled wake up call that I told the desk about and they immediately comp'd our valet parking for the inconvenience which more than made up for it. The fire alarm did go off at 7:30 a.m. and they seemed to have some trouble getting it turned off, but it only lasted 15 minutes tops. Overall it was a nice, convenient, hospitable hotel. When we go back to Kansas City we'll definitely be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice hotel, close to bars and restaurants

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: the water pressure
Location: shopping at each end of the shuttle service, lots of good restaurants and bars.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, hotel is close to bars & restaurants and right around the corner from the free shuttle service. The only complaint I have is that the water pressure was horrible and we couldn't get the room cool enough. other than that I enjoyed everything about the hotel
5 out of 5
by M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Theresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by robert

President Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
The service was great. Decor and restaurants were great. The beds were terrible. Uncomfortable and small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again.

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
For the price, I was not impressed. The rooms were clean and the lobby and lounge nice, but that's about it. We arrived at 4:30pm and our room wasn't ready yet- what? Then they charged me for two nights when I booked one. I had a massive migraine and went downstairs to purchase some Advil- they didn't even have a pantry or anything to buy it from. The lady at the desk gave me wrong directions to walk and find some- never found the store. Basically, anything we asked for we didn't get. When getting on the elevator to take our own bags up (no big deal- they were busy), a guy stopped us and lectured us to bring the cart back down and repeated himself several times(um, yea we got it). Service in this place is seriously lacking.
4 out of 5
by John

A bit lacking for the price

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was great and location is good. Lobby of the building is very cool but the room (standard king) seemed a bit lacking for the price. Shower water pressure was worse than I would expect (granted it is an old building), and room amenities seemed a bit lacking (also, no free wi-fi? What year is it?). Overall a good experience with power&light district a few blocks away. Restaurant and breakfast were pretty good.