Ratings based on 3,203 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heavener, Ok

Historic Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: I liked everything about the hotel.
Cons: Information packets could be left in the rooms. The only informative item was a book on historic hotels across America.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of the Kansas City Convention Center. There are dining places very close.
Absolutely loved the nostalgia of this 1930's Hotel. It is recently remodeled, but still has the wonderful aura of a time gone by. The staff were very accommodating & pleasant. The hotel was very clean. I enjoyed my 4 day stay very much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Unique hotel walking distance to sprint

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Beautiful, unique hotel - loved the feel and decor of the room! Appreciated the tile shower bathroom and comfortable beds and bedding! Loved the charm!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Had a great time in town for a concert at the Sprint Center. Perfectly located for all kinds of fun downtown. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, Co

Aaahhh!!!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I had an extremely late arrival due to delayed flights, called the hotel to inform them, and was personally greeted upon arrival, and given breakfast vouchers as well. I've stayed numerous times here.. attentive staff, warm and inviting atmosphere, dreamy suite, perfect location in the Power and Light District, I really could go on and on. Excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us, I hope you will be our guest again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice room layout. Bed was comfortable but mattress smelled. Called front desk was out of blankets. Can't recommend a hotel with smelly mattresses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we will definitely be looking into your situation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Everything was great until I went to check in....

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Beautiful rooms and lobby. Great service.
Cons: I am sure this was an isolated incidence but I would hope that the hotel management would be up front about their mistake.
Location: Perfect downtown location, near food bars and entertainment
Upon my arrival I was greeted promptly by the valet and then immediately by a very friendly concierge who took me to the front desk to check in. When I asked if the hotel needed my credit card the concierge told me that they already had a card on file from the person who checked in before me. I was surprised because I was not expecting nor did i know the person they told me was staying in my room. The hotel management told me that the person had my name so they allowed him to check in and suggested that we could share a room because the other hotels were booked solid. I became pretty angry that a hotel of their reputation would allow someone I did not know to check in without my pre approval or consent. The hotel manager suggested that a third party person had approved the other persons check in. This turned out to be not true. After an hour long aggravated search into the situation I found out that a new concierge employee had checked the person in not knowing/understanding the breach of security that they had committed. Fortunately for the hotel, the room that was assigned to me was a large room with two beds and me and the other guest had where able to work out an arrangement for both of us to stay in the same room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are very diligent about checking ID's at check-in, this is a first. We are looking in to this situation, we take our guests safety very seriously. We would never allow another guest to check-in to an already occupied room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay for the amount of money spent

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Nice location to The Power and Light District. Everything else was very disappointing. When we got there the parking garage was not dispensing tickets. The intercom was not working so we had to go back and forth from the hotel to the garage multiple times. This is not the fault of the hotel since we were told this was out sourced through a different company but charging 16 dollars every time you go in and out is excessive. We were told that we would be comped for valet. This was nice but when we checked out there was a charge. No one communicates here. Even though we made sure to double check that it was in the system and was told multiple times it was. The second issue was that our room was not ready. This wouldn't be a problem if we would have arrived right at check in but it was 4 hours after when we got there. We were given a different room but it would have been nice to have the room we ordered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Old school Art Deco awesomeness. Classic hotel with a modern facelift. Conveniently located. Ignore the reviews about crummy service, we were treated very well. Note that this is an old facility and things were scaled differently when it was constructed; adequately sized, but not spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McCook Lake SD

Great location

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Short walk to all the bars, restaurants, and entertainment. On our first night water poured into room from leaking windows during a storm. Promptly moved us to another room for our second night and didn't charge us for two days of valet parking. When checking out we realized we had left a Yeti mug in our original room. Called housekeeping and left a message. Have not received a return call so we assume someone in housekeeping is enjoying it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Nice hotel, great location. Within walking distance to restaurants, power and light district, and Sprint Center. Free shuttle to sites within 3 miles