Ratings based on 3,280 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Staff was very nice. Pleasant stay. No fuss. Had a blink light in the bathroom. Short in the fuse maybe? And toilet wouldn’t stop running. Otherwise room was really nice. Hallways were a little dirty. Lobby is really nice and cafe and restaurant attached are top notch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paola, KS

Quick night in the city, great hotel.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Historic, gorgeous lobby.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Power & Light, Sprint Center, shops and restaurants.
Stayed just one night, but loved the character in this historic hotel from the beautiful lobby to the nice sized room with great amenities. The bathroom was very nice, claw foot tub, heated floors, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Pretty old hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Everything has greatly improved at Hotel Phillips since Hilton took over. The staff was well trained and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. And the hotel has historic appeal and is beautiful. The TV in my room did not work properly - for the entire stay. I’ve stayed at this hotel several times over the past decade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Paid for Valet for Nothing.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Paid $14 for Valet at this hotel so that I could wait 25 minutes to get my car. It was on a Sunday morning after my girlfriend and I were already a little set off that we paid $280 to stay here one night and didn't have a fridge in the room or the bathrobes that were advertised when we booked the room. Got downstairs to get our car Sunday morning to leave only to find a line of about 4 couples waiting in line also. Their were 4 people working valet including one of the desk clerks. After about 10 minutes the 8 of us figured out that they couldn't find one of the couples car. The valet kept asking them if the their car was yellow and they kept saying no it's red. Apparently this threw the entire valet service in turmoil. It took all four of them another 15 minutes to find their car. They had mis-tagged it when they dropped it off the night before. A fifth couple should up while this was happening and the man sneaked around the corner and gave the valet his ticket so that he could skip line. Valet took it and ran off to get his car completely ignoring the other 8 of us who had been waiting, now 25 minutes, for their car. You think when you pay more to stay somewhere that you would get a much better experience for that money. That my be the case at other fine hotels, but that is NOT the case at Hotel Phillips. Extremely let down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atascadero, CA

Clean and Classy Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
We got upgraded for free when we told the staff that we'd just been married. We got a very nice corner room and hand a fantastic view of Kansas City. The hotel is very jazzy and clean, but welcoming. Thank you Hotel Phillips for kicking off our honeymoon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Not as advertised!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I stayed here with a friend in August for a date night in the Power and Light District. I booked a Deluxe Room with a king bed on Expedia because this hotel appeared to have great amenities and be a good choice for a weekend getaway to Kansas City. Arriving at our room was quite a disappointment! Although all of these amenities were advertised when I booked the room there was no separate bedroom, no shower/tub combo with a rainfall shower head (only a shower stall with a shower head that functioned like a straight pipe), no bottled water (not even a mini fridge), and the bed was arguably a queen. I called the front desk to ask if we were given the correct room and the person I talked with insisted that there was nothing wrong with the room; every time I brought up a specific issue she stated that she "don't know anything about that". I finally gave up with this person and went to the front desk to ask for the manager. The manager stated that none of the amenities I was mentioning are offered at this hotel and when I showed her the room description from Expedia she said that Expedia was misrepresenting the hotel. At that point I asked to be shown a couple other rooms but the manager refused. I really feel like we were the victims of a "bait and switch". The manager did offer to add bonus points to my Hilton Honors account, but that really didn't make up for the disappointing room. At check out the next morning, I was informed that the valet had lost my car keys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield Mo

Convenient to area

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Room was too small for price and climate control was terrible Left early because so uncomfortably hot in room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bedford, MA

Beautiful hitel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of the staff. We actually loved everything about this hotel.
Location: The Oower and Light District has a vibrant nightlife.
The hotel just went through a multi million dollar renovation. Going in to the lobby, you feel like you are going back in time. All dark wood. Very elegant. The staff is all top notch. From the desk clerks, to the managers, the valet, the housekeeping and the shuttle driver. The hotel will shuttle you anywhere in a 3 mile radius. The rooms are huge as well as the bathrooms. The beds are comfortable. The shower was great. We would stay again . They are a few blocks from the Power and Light District with lots of restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Beautiful room and very comfortable. Loved the breakfadt and Speakeasy bar. Needed a refrigerator in the room for medication storage. Needed access to a quick vending machine for low blood sugar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel but it has issues

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The history
Cons: Customer service & facilities should be better maintained
Location: Power & light district is very close
We stayed for a week & our AC worked well in our room when we first checked in. After a few days we noticed it started getting worse & not cooling as much. By the last few days I was going to the front desk 3 times a day to have maintenance look at the AC. They kept saying that "it's fixed" so I had the maintenance guy meet me in the room so I could actually prove to him that it's broke. We he arrived he agreed it was cooler in the hallway than in our room & he didn't have anything to fix the AC that night. We were stuck spending another night in sweltering heat, not sleeping before our 5am flight. Wish the windows would have opened because that would have let some cooler air in. Also the bathroom sink backs up & doesn't drain. For what the hotel charges one would think they would treat people better & make sure things actually work. Overall opinion would be to find another hotel & don't waste your time on this overpriced place.