Ratings based on 3,261 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atascadero, CA

Clean and Classy Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
We got upgraded for free when we told the staff that we'd just been married. We got a very nice corner room and hand a fantastic view of Kansas City. The hotel is very jazzy and clean, but welcoming. Thank you Hotel Phillips for kicking off our honeymoon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Not as advertised!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I stayed here with a friend in August for a date night in the Power and Light District. I booked a Deluxe Room with a king bed on Expedia because this hotel appeared to have great amenities and be a good choice for a weekend getaway to Kansas City. Arriving at our room was quite a disappointment! Although all of these amenities were advertised when I booked the room there was no separate bedroom, no shower/tub combo with a rainfall shower head (only a shower stall with a shower head that functioned like a straight pipe), no bottled water (not even a mini fridge), and the bed was arguably a queen. I called the front desk to ask if we were given the correct room and the person I talked with insisted that there was nothing wrong with the room; every time I brought up a specific issue she stated that she "don't know anything about that". I finally gave up with this person and went to the front desk to ask for the manager. The manager stated that none of the amenities I was mentioning are offered at this hotel and when I showed her the room description from Expedia she said that Expedia was misrepresenting the hotel. At that point I asked to be shown a couple other rooms but the manager refused. I really feel like we were the victims of a "bait and switch". The manager did offer to add bonus points to my Hilton Honors account, but that really didn't make up for the disappointing room. At check out the next morning, I was informed that the valet had lost my car keys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield Mo

Convenient to area

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Room was too small for price and climate control was terrible Left early because so uncomfortably hot in room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bedford, MA

Beautiful hitel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of the staff. We actually loved everything about this hotel.
Location: The Oower and Light District has a vibrant nightlife.
The hotel just went through a multi million dollar renovation. Going in to the lobby, you feel like you are going back in time. All dark wood. Very elegant. The staff is all top notch. From the desk clerks, to the managers, the valet, the housekeeping and the shuttle driver. The hotel will shuttle you anywhere in a 3 mile radius. The rooms are huge as well as the bathrooms. The beds are comfortable. The shower was great. We would stay again . They are a few blocks from the Power and Light District with lots of restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Beautiful room and very comfortable. Loved the breakfadt and Speakeasy bar. Needed a refrigerator in the room for medication storage. Needed access to a quick vending machine for low blood sugar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel but it has issues

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The history
Cons: Customer service & facilities should be better maintained
Location: Power & light district is very close
We stayed for a week & our AC worked well in our room when we first checked in. After a few days we noticed it started getting worse & not cooling as much. By the last few days I was going to the front desk 3 times a day to have maintenance look at the AC. They kept saying that "it's fixed" so I had the maintenance guy meet me in the room so I could actually prove to him that it's broke. We he arrived he agreed it was cooler in the hallway than in our room & he didn't have anything to fix the AC that night. We were stuck spending another night in sweltering heat, not sleeping before our 5am flight. Wish the windows would have opened because that would have let some cooler air in. Also the bathroom sink backs up & doesn't drain. For what the hotel charges one would think they would treat people better & make sure things actually work. Overall opinion would be to find another hotel & don't waste your time on this overpriced place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millington, NJ

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Call ahead for car to be delivered by valet service was always timely. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.
Cons: Have disinfectant available for equipment, it just seemed to be provided as hand wipes. One breakfast took a while, but nothing really unacceptable.
Location: coffee shops, Union Station, with Planetarium. Convenient to a variety of restaurants. Easy access to highways
Courteous and friendly staff, convenient valet parking. The breakfast food was very tasty. No long waits at the elevator (we were on the 15th floor). Roomy exercise room with an eliptical and weights I used several times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central Kansas City location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Hotel with lots of history and character with newly updated rooms. Friendly and efficient staff. Valet parking was very convenient and quick.
Cons: Only improvements would be to add in-room safe and fridge.
We had a great experience at the Hotel Phillips. The staff were welcoming efficient and friendly. The lobby is very interesting with Art Deco features. We enjoyed breakfasts in the Tavernonna restaurant and the food was delicious and the service quick. It's very easy to get around Kansas City by car from this location. Overall a great experience and we definitely recommend Hotel Phillips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is the first time ever visiting Kansas City. The location of the hotel is phenomenal. Easy access to everything. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Fabulous Getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Close to entertainment and nightlife. The staff, especially Leah at the concierge desk was amazing and friendly.