Ratings based on 513 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fly Over Country, USA

The Gaya Centre Hotel Best Day Have Long Past It

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The staff did a great job trying to compensated for the state of the facility.
Cons: It shoudl be closed and completely renovated.
Location: Great lcoation if there happen to be a hotel located there.
The hotel was probably quite majestic in its day. We stayed on the Penthouse floor and the rooms were filthy. The carpet was HEAVILY stained ina dozen places and there was dirt and stains on the walls. The towels were very old. Never again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Tired hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Renovations needed
Location: Close to Jesselton ferry terminal and suria Sabah mall
I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the last 8 years. The location is handy for the jetty and Suria Sabah but the hotel is very run down. The buffet breakfast was disappointing. Upgraded to a junior suite on the top floor but nothing special about it. Carpet is worn and stained heavily like the rest of the hotel. The place really could do with some painting and renovation. I will not be staying there again until they upgrade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Hotel that doesn't fail to amuse me

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness of the room
Cons: The hotel staff should be more friendly. Sometimes, a pleasant smile will make a whole lot difference.
Location: Location is the reason I choose this hotel. It's located at the heart of the city and accessible to tourist spot. Easy.
I've stayed this hotel many times. Each time I came to KK, I will try to book this hotel since the location is very strategic and easy access. The room is comfy and clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dump

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Only good point is that it's in a good location. Hallways were run down with broken, dirty carpets and dim lights. Our room was rundown, bedding felt damp from humidity with stains, all the towels had stains, shower door looked like it would fall off, carpets were dirty, ceiling was damaged and had damp patches. We complained 3 times, shown a further 7 rooms including penthouse all of which were the same story except one had floor boards instead of dirty carpet and the toilet shower seemed more stable but even this room had dirt on the chair which stuck to my phone, smelly pillows and stained bedding. Penthouse also had dirty towels, dirty bedding and worse still dirty pillows that had dry blood on the actual pillow which you could see through the pillow cover. The bell boy that was with us took it as normal and that there's nothing wrong!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stemboat,Colorado

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 15, 2017
This is a hotel lacking in maintenance and upkeep. On the negative the carpets were worn and dirty and the room and hallways needed paint. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and shower water pressure was excellent. The sheets were soft and clean even if one wondered about overall cleanliness especially in the shower area. Overall it is a hotel going to seed with excellent and helpful staff. I stayed only overnight and would,probably,not return seeing as there are many other choices in Kota Kinabalu. Close to a mall and a bunch of open air seafood eateries on the seawall. There is a 5 Rupiah airport bus and a fixed 30 rupiah taxi to/ from airport...buy your voucher in the airport...as taxi fares are highly subjective and 'negotiable'. Never get in without ascertaining the fare!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor toilet condition

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
The toilet needs some refurbishment - moldy tiles needs to be cleaned and the shower room doors are fragile. Carpets were dirty - need some deep cleaning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to shopping mall.

Posted May 21, 2017
I hve.been check-in this hotel few times on outstation trip. This is the wrose trip. 1st check-in, the staff uphappy with my register by no using full name. When go to our room, the bed sheet look like vry dirty, I ask to chg., & on the 2nd day, even a lot of water drops from the roof, luckly didn't wet our shoes & clothing & we chg.room.This is the 1st time I book fr.expedia got this problem. Without breakfast(I think the room rate all with breakfast), bed sht dirty & water fr.the roof need to chg.room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't stay there again

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is so old. The bathroom is very dirty and the room is quite noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Hotel at the city centre

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Room with sea view.
Cons: Please provide cleaner towels.
Location: Suria shopping centre is just opposite the hotel.
The hotel facilities are old but the room is clean. However, towels can be really dirty. The room with sea view is superb. If you do not mind about dirty towels, this could be a good hotel for you to stay.
4 out of 5
by warren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels