Ratings based on 727 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North of London, UK

Central location, part view to sea, fair value

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Location Breakfast Staff
Location: Lots of Malls ... if you like these. Pier for trips to the islands. fish market for meals
In a busy city it was a central location for the taxi / bus pick ups for travelling to Kinabalu mountain and only a 10 min stroll to the pier to go out to the islands. the room on a high floor ( quiet ) was very comfortable and had a sea view ( ignoring the tall Post building opposite ) although the dark walls ( bedroom and bathroom ) were a little gloomy. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choices - fruits / hot / pastries and a few interesting hot items Staff were friendly and the airport bus drop off / pick up ( RM5 pp ) just outside
5 out of 5
by MW from Germany

Best location

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Will come back again next time.
4 out of 5
by Sandeep

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service level require improvement

Posted May 17, 2017
This hotel far behind 4star standard. More like 2-3star hotel. The ambiance when entering lobby look bit sloppy and smell stuffy everywhere includes room corridor and guest room. Here below the Management seriously need to looking into it: 1. Room assigned not up to guest reference. It's smoking floor and room. Yet got upgraded to bigger room however the room seriously not practical at all. Light switch button confusing. No table to dining and you called it grand deluxe. A.c. too noisy lucky ear plug my life saver. Shower rain not useful at all. 2. Breakfast included but if you request latte or any bit drink will be chargeable compare other hotel standard 4 star is not. Omelette station only one and the staff incompetence cause congestion and delay . Staff more gossiping rather helping the guest . Restaurant manager (wearing black suit) I guess , eating papaya front of the guest which you done discretely. 3. Front desk called 11.15am reminder checkout time . I guess standard local hotel like that. Duh..! Final bill without present straight concluded amount . Ridiculous. They unable to do reversal credit card on the spot and need call bank . Overall , premium paid room rate but budget hotel standard. Such a wasted .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location

Posted May 2, 2017
Good location, clean and spacious hotel. Experience hotel staff. It would be better if there is more variety for the breakfast buffet. Overall experience is good.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Does the job.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Great view if you choose the seaward facing rooms.
Cons: Check in.
Location: Good location in the centre of the city. We enjoyed diving trips out to the island through 'Borneo Dreams'.
Check in was disappointing with our room not ready, despite it being an hour after the minimum check in time. Further when we were placed in the bar to wait, no one came to tell us the room was ready, we had to return to the front desk to check ourselves. Beyond this the rest of the stay was pleasant. The pool is small (1.2m throughout), with no shade to sit under, but it has a great view. There's a good gym. Rooms are nice, though the wooden circular bath tubs a little small for even an average sized person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K.L.

very convenient access to town and airport

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Its location and atmosphere. Also the staff very helpful and pleasant.
Location: In town and easy to find when returning from visits
An excellent hotel with great facilities and polite and helpful staff. Easy access to the town and markets as well as transport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Horizon Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great comments. Wish you a great holidays in Sabah
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Nice hotel in the middle of town

Posted Apr 6, 2017
For town hotel, everything seem perfect. I just dont like parking system that need reception approval if I dont want to pay. During the day, I was urgently need to go out, I just paid the expensive parking rate. Others, room cleanliness, room comfort, room decoration, pool, gym all is in good condition.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel. Bathroom deco too dark

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Very good location in the middle of the city centre
Cons: Should have an iron in the room
Location: Near to all shopping malls
Very good location in the middle of the city centre. Easy access to shopping malls.