Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't likely return

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: near the water
Cons: the place really need a whole make over - very old, stuffy, no elevator!
needed to stay at a hotel for one night and choice this one -- room was stuffy - LOUD a/c - and the area? a little sketchy. the woman who checked me was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Hulagirl1, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our historic inn. It sounds as if the air conditioner wasn't turned on in your room in advance of your arrival and for that I apologize. I was a little surprised that you described the area as sketchy since Lahaina is actually a very safe town with a very low crime rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old fashioned hotel!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Absolutely excellent location, the feeling of a historic building, balconies are adorable, great restaurant, and very polite staff.
Location: The restaurants and art galleries that you'll miss if you are in Kaanapali will be at a walking distance. Ferry for Lanai just in front of the hotel!
We stayed for some days and we wished we could have rebooked our flights back to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Right on the water, historic hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: I can't think of anything really
Location: There is plenty to do and there are some great eateries nearby.
This hotel is a cracking place. It's a beautiful 1900's hotel and one of the first on Maui. There is a beautiful view of the sunset over one of the other island. You can go whale watching and snorkeling with the Pacific Whale Foundation right on your doorstep and there is great night entertainment and shopping in the area. They have a resident Parrot, Alex, who is just great and is a bit of a ladies man ;-) We were in the last room right next to the pools pumps but to be honest we never even noticed it other than when we sat on the balcony but it didn't bother us at all. The views just let you forget it. I cannot recommend this place enough, they staff are just excellent and everyone treats you so kindly. Go visit this place, I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in Lahaina

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Old historical hotel that is well maintained and has nice staff working there.
Stayed for a few nights, and enjoyed a short amount of time at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
We loved Pioneer Inn. Katherine greeted us and was most helpful. We had a corner room. The bed was very comfortable and the balcony was amazing. We were entertained by the music of two businesses across the street. My husband and I love to people watch so it was great. We had breakfast at the Inn and it was great food and great service. We also got a discount because we were guests of the Inn. We would totally stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocean Pines, Maryland

Perfect location for Lahaina Harbor activities

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Perfect location for Lahaina Harbor activities, such as dive excursions and other boat excursions. The hotel staff was friendly and extremely helpful.
Cons: A microwave in the hotel rooms would be nice. A dumbwaiter or elevator, to lift luggage to the second floor, would be a plus.
Location: Located a few steps from Lahaina Harbor with its various boat excursions. Also, Banyan Tree Park with its historic tree is right across the street.
We stayed at the Best Western Pioneer Inn for twelve days. It is an historic landmark, built in the early 1900's, and is located in downtown Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii. The hotel staff was excellent, especially Amanda, who helped us get back in our room after we accidentally locked ourselves out on our porch, which overlooks Banyan Tree Park and Lahaina Harbor. The rooms are rather small, but very functional and comfortable, and the large covered porch with a table and two rocking chairs expanded the living area considerably. A mini-fridge and free WiFi are available in all rooms. Since it was within easy walking distance of anything we needed - grocery stores, restaurants and fast food places, and lots of stores - we didn't even bother to rent a car. Instead we took the Robert's Hawaii airport shuttle for a very reasonable price. We were able to walk around, exploring downtown Lahaina and various historic sights, such as the magnificent Banyan tree, which was right across the street from the hotel and celebrated its 144th birthday while we were there. Our main goal was to be near the dive boats and excursion boats, which were located across the street in Lahaina Harbor. With its convenient location and great hotel staff, we would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Very close to everything. Happy we chose to stay here. Walkable distance to shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Very historic hotel. Perfect for a 30's something couple looking to spend under $200/ night on lodging. Nice balconies with rocking chairs, close to wharf and restaurants and shopping. Planning on booking again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel, city center, close to all in Lahai

Posted Apr 27, 2017
This is a nice older hotel. If you want absolute luxury, do not stay here. The street noise is obvious until about 10 o'clock. Porches or outside each room. This has advantages and disadvantage is. If you have a neighbor who stays up late and is vocal you'll hear every word. However, just looking at the street level or side to the park is very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels