Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Hotel at Great Location

Posted Dec 5, 2017
This historical hotel is full of character. The air conditioner is noisy, the bed is smaller and there is not much in the bathroom, but it is also clean and comfortable. The two main strengths of this hotel are its staff (especially the front desk) and its location. We did not rent a car so we chose to walk or use the bus and still be able see the west side of Maui where there is beach, harbor, stores, shows and restaurants. It is close to the Whalers Village by public bus, walking distance to Warren and Annabelle Magic Show, the Baldwin House, Ho Wing Museum, across the street from whale watching ships and next to Banyan Park. The staff is friendly and helpful. When I wanted beach towels, to print our boarding pass, advice to board the public bus or call a cab to the airport, they were able to do it promptly and cheerfully. The restaurant at the hotel has also a great breakfast with 15% off if you stay at the hotel and a talking parrot for background noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, noisy rooms

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The check-in process Also the parking lot is several blocks away and hard to find at night.
8 of 33 rooms at this hotel face perhaps the busiest, noisiest street in the Hawaiian Islands (Front Street). Avoid these at all costs, if you can. But good luck with that. I specifically requested a quiet room but was bumped before I had even unpacked. Unless the hotel would guarantee a room facing the inner courtyard (which they won’t), I would never stay here again. Great location for exploring Lahaina on foot. But that’s no fun when you’ve barely had any sleep. They did comp my breakfast and reduce the rate somewhat, which I appreciate. But I would never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Pioneer Inn, Hotel Management
I am really sorry for the confusion upon your arrival. We always try to accommodate guest requests if possible. I apologize that this was not accomplished for your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkely

Historic hotel with raffish charm

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Over a century old, the Pioneer Inn is a real piece of Hawaii's history. Best Western has restored it to a pleasant and clean hotel from its former gradual decline. Its location is central and gives perfect access to the shops, restaurants, art galleries and sights of Lahaina just steps away --including my favorite amazing sight of the magnificent, huge (one- block-long) banyan tree, home to hundreds of birds who all flock to roost there by sunset, right next door. We spent 2 nights here because the beach condo we wanted was not available until 2 days after my birthday. So we flew into Maui in time to have my birthday dinner in Lahaina. Our room was spacious (room 40) and comfortable, with a king bed and a rather fun Murphy bed closed up against one wall that would make this room suitable for up to 4 people. We didn't need to use it, but I thought it was clever. The downside of this room is that it is very dark and has not much of a view, facing the pool courtyard.We weren't too worried as we were moving on to a condo with a spectacular view, so we just enjoyed the history, convenience, and warm service at the Inn. Because one of the main pleasures for us here was how genuinely friendly and helpful the staff was here. From Patti, who checked us in, to Amanda who checked us out and stored our bags, as well as letting us keep our car parked in their lot for free until we left town to check into our condo, and Karlotta who served our breakfasts, they could not have been nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Easy in and out. Nothing crazy or fancy but everything was in working order and staff was kind and prompt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Good hotel in a great location. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and the bar is a good hang-out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great location

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The location of the hotel is great, close to shops and restaurants where you dont have to drive. Overall its a nice place to stay while in Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Short stay, but everything was in order. Very trouble-free.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pioneer Inn

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful stay. Very helpful staff. Historic property.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua, HI

Nice stay

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, convenience to the shops and restaurants.
Location: Awesome location.
The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Right outside the hotel was a great surf spot. Very convenient to shops and restaurants.