Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua, HI

Nice stay

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, convenience to the shops and restaurants.
Location: Awesome location.
The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Right outside the hotel was a great surf spot. Very convenient to shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Hotel was bit older than expected from the pictures, although the history definitely made it unique. Personal balcony perfect for relaxing before starting the day. The best part was the location, right in the middle of Lahaina, which is a cute little town. Good for older guests and families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful historic Inn right on the ocean

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Wonderful experience. Romantic and comfortable for our fiftieth wedding anniversayin room 50. Great location next to Banyan tree next door. Front Street directly behind. Ocean in font. Paradise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't likely return

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: near the water
Cons: the place really need a whole make over - very old, stuffy, no elevator!
needed to stay at a hotel for one night and choice this one -- room was stuffy - LOUD a/c - and the area? a little sketchy. the woman who checked me was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Hulagirl1, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our historic inn. It sounds as if the air conditioner wasn't turned on in your room in advance of your arrival and for that I apologize. I was a little surprised that you described the area as sketchy since Lahaina is actually a very safe town with a very low crime rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old fashioned hotel!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Absolutely excellent location, the feeling of a historic building, balconies are adorable, great restaurant, and very polite staff.
Location: The restaurants and art galleries that you'll miss if you are in Kaanapali will be at a walking distance. Ferry for Lanai just in front of the hotel!
We stayed for some days and we wished we could have rebooked our flights back to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Right on the water, historic hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: I can't think of anything really
Location: There is plenty to do and there are some great eateries nearby.
This hotel is a cracking place. It's a beautiful 1900's hotel and one of the first on Maui. There is a beautiful view of the sunset over one of the other island. You can go whale watching and snorkeling with the Pacific Whale Foundation right on your doorstep and there is great night entertainment and shopping in the area. They have a resident Parrot, Alex, who is just great and is a bit of a ladies man ;-) We were in the last room right next to the pools pumps but to be honest we never even noticed it other than when we sat on the balcony but it didn't bother us at all. The views just let you forget it. I cannot recommend this place enough, they staff are just excellent and everyone treats you so kindly. Go visit this place, I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in Lahaina

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Old historical hotel that is well maintained and has nice staff working there.
Stayed for a few nights, and enjoyed a short amount of time at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
We loved Pioneer Inn. Katherine greeted us and was most helpful. We had a corner room. The bed was very comfortable and the balcony was amazing. We were entertained by the music of two businesses across the street. My husband and I love to people watch so it was great. We had breakfast at the Inn and it was great food and great service. We also got a discount because we were guests of the Inn. We would totally stay there again!
2 out of 5
by Jennifer

Make sure construction is finished

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Cute hotel But waking up to banging at 6 am seems a lil Unreasonable
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017
Thank you for your patience with our exterior improvement project. We look to complete this phase of the project in the next couple of weeks. I hope that you come back to stay with us when the project is complete. We would love to have you stay with us without the distraction of builders early in the morning.
5 out of 5
by sally

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels