Ratings based on 2,020 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Very nice

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Room are very clean very comfy And quiet Bathroom are spotless
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Casino at downtown Las Vegas

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Cons: There should be a second elevator for all the customers. A clear walkway for the young.
Location: Main Street station, the golden nuggets casino etc.
Mostly, it's a fine hotel. I noticed that the young children and teens had to go across all the flashing machines of casino. Some people stay their most of time for gambling. There's a bus stop two blocks away to bring you to the string.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, TX

Inexpensive pleasant stay

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The rooms and the casino
Cons: The restaurant food wasn't really that good.
Location: 1 block off of Freemont Street. Close enough to enjoy but far enough away to not have to deal with the noise when trying to sleep.
This hotel doesn't have that extra daily whatchamacallit fee. Very reasonably priced. Rooms were up to date and immaculate. Very nice. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Clean room. Walked the bridge to Main St Station. Very pleasant stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Compton, CA

Downtown Vegas

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The rooms were a good price and they were clean.
Cons: If i reserve a non-smoking room months in advance, i expect to get it.
Location: its near Freemont Street which is the main entertainment hub downtown.
Staying in downtown Vegas will save you some money compared with staying on the strip. But if your not strapped for cash, the strip is much more enjoyable imho. The California is a decent hotel, I reserved my room months before my trip, but i still got a smoking room, Despite my objections, they told me non-smoking rooms were based on availability. That's my only gripe about the California Hotel and Casino.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Better'n any motel off I-15

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
We needed an overnight stop on our trip from Colorado to San Diego; so we opted to stay at the California Hotel. The rooms here have been completely refurbished. Ours was large and well furnished. Fine or casual dining was just an elevator ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Vacation

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Very nice suite. Very clean.
Cons: Perhaps offer room service. I was hungry one night, but too tired to go out to supper.
Location: I mainly was there for several concerts. I may check this out at my next visit. I will definitely.
The hotel staff were very helpful and very courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel just off Freemont

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Nice place to stay in Vegas. Not too pricey and just a short drive to the strip. Even shorter walk to Freemont St. Would stay again the next time im in Vegas.
4 out of 5
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Chang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels