Ratings based on 9,422 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Only place we gamble. Don’t like BJ dealers. They are WAY TOO GOOD. Be back next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the old strip.

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Very restful and room had a great view. Food is good at the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at The Elcortez Hotel and Casino!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Priced Right for the Experience

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Happy Hour
Cons: Water pressure (sink and shower)
Location: Fremont Street Experience!
I've stayed at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino many times (alone, and with family). The experience is always pleasant, the food in the hotel restaurant is fabulous, and the casino is always fun! It's located just a block away from the Fremont Street Experience, and you can't argue with the room price. My only complaint was the lack of water pressure in the shower, sink, and the heat lamp constantly turning off. Aside from those three things, my experience was exactly what I expected it to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay. Have a wonderful day. We will take care of the water pressure. Sorry for this inconvience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Great location on end of fremont street.

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: Service and location
Cons: Would like to see a buffett.
Great location on fremont street. Hotel staff was friendly and quick on getting drinks while playing slots. patron margaritas were good also. Good hotel for price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell River bc canada

Awesome..so glad i picked it

Posted Feb 18, 2018
First time to vegas..if you want a pool go somewhere else...if you want a great place to hang your hat while you explore vegas come here..stayed in the cabana jnr suite..was bright lime green..but it was spacious...clean..comfortable and quiet...liked it so much im going back in a couple months for my birthday..booked it yesterday
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
thank you for your review and stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Nice room, good bed, nice bedding and towels

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: as above.
Cons: the coffee maker in our room needs repair or replacement, as it is finicky.
A nice older hotel. We had a very comfortable room with a very good king-size bed, nice bedding, good TV with somewhat limited channels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
thank you for your stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Pavilion rooms get a lot of noise from Fremont street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Depending on the events in town the noise level may vary. Thank you for the stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Decent hotel, on Fremont. The casino staff is a little sketchy on the craps tables, so keep an eye on your bets. Over all, I would come back. Cheap way to enjoy the Vegas experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sen Diego, CA.

Quiet and comfortable.

Posted Feb 15, 2018
If you've ever stayed at a downtown hotel in Vegas you know how noisy the Freemont can get in the wee hours of the morning. Hard to sleep. El Cortez is just a couple of blocks away yet close enough to enjoy the Fremont experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Have a great day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid an arm and a leg

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Unexpected fees at the front desk. When I had already thought I was settled before hand. Booked online and was still charged a service fee. Am still waiting for my deposit to be returned. Over all disappointed with the price.