Ratings based on 9,173 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
This is a decent hotel downtown. It hasn't been upgraded recently as some of the others have, but it is homey and has a couple nice places to eat and drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlantic Pacific

Vintage comfort

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Great location if like me you favor glitter gultch over the strip. Free parking. Coffee maker, which is not all that common in Vegas.Easy check in. Plenty of towels and bedtime mints. Even two free bottles of water! I stayed in the vintage rooms and enjoyed the close proximity to the casino floor. All in all a very enjoyable experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at The Elcortez Hotel and Casino and taking the time for this review. Have a nice day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Cheap Hotel Downtown

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Its OK but needs upgraded heating and cooling system there's no medium and the bathrooms are freezing but comfy beds and clean halls and elevator
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Good place to stay in downtown Las Vegas

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: The ambiance. This place has been in business for a long time. I like the old school atmosphere. The strip casinos are too big
Cons: The first room was perfect with nice furniture and large bathroom. The last room was spacious, but furniture was worn and smaller bathroom.
Location: Close to the Deuce bus stop and the neon jungle. Evel Pie has the best GF pizza ever with good music. The Container Park shops are interesting.
This is the second time I have stayed here recently and plan to come back. Have had nice rooms with plenty of living space in the tower. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. Have enjoyed eating in the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Elcortez Hotel and Casino
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Slow check in and the added Resot Fee was not explained to me when I booked with Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap accommodations downtown

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Cheap rate for a Fri night.
Location: Its at the outer edge of downtown Vegas.
The casino has been remodeled. The room, while somewhat dated, was clean and functional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Would Recommend

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Location: Great location, not under the canopy so quite when you want it yet with short 2 block walk you have the party up beat atmosphere. It's a win win!
Clean rooms with friendly service all for a great price. For sure will stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Lee Lee, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. Glad you had a good time.\
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC

Cheap with decent food.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
At $45 a night on a weekend, it is hard to complain about anything. They wouldn't allow us to call in food orders, we had to pay before they'd even enter the order. They also stop serving certain menus half an hour before the times on the menu (i.e. we called at 10:30 pm and couldn't have a menu item from the 11 am- 11 pm menu because "they start breaking down the kitchen half an hour before"). If you are going to have menus for certain times, stick to those times amd provide the service promised or change the times listed on the menu. They also needed to clean the coffee maker, it was quite dirty. Other than that, it was a deal. Rooms were pretty clean and restaurant servers were very nice. The food was good and parking was available at no cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, TX

First time staying in downtown - loved it!!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: coffeemaker and fridge in the room; location 1 block from Fremont St experience
Cons: Get rid of the resort fees! People despise them!
Stayed a quick 2 nights on our way back from a larger road trip. We have never stayed in downtown - always on the southern end so we thought we'd give this a try. El Cortez is great - it's one block off Fremont St experience, plenty of bars, restaurants, a market to buy food, a gas station a couple blocks away, etc. It was super convenient. Free, easy parking. We were still able to get a good deal even with paying the ridiculous resort fees on top of the room fee of which normally I try to find a no resort fee hotel - but the room we had was on the 5th floor that was open airways. Wonderful view of the mountains and night life below without being too noisy. The gambling floor seemed pretty big (we don't gamble so no valid opinion on that) and there were several great happy hour deals at the bars with probably one of the best margaritas I've ever had. The room itself had a COFFEEMAKER and FRIDGE which are 2 absolutely difficult things to get in a room in Las Vegas but requirements for us. Those 2 room amenities plus the convenient easy going location downtown - we will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by LeeLee, Hotel Management
Thank you . Have a good day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Our room was comfortable and clean. Our sink was backed up and made gurggling noises, but this was minor. Now the casino staff . . . RUDE!! The majority of the table workers were extremely rude and unfriendly.