Ratings based on 12,964 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Plaza Hotel Review

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: The Pool area and the staff was great
Cons: A fridge in the room would be nice
Location: great free concerts on Fremont street
Decent Hotel for the price with easy access to Fremont Street. No frills though and a fridge costs extra. The 5th floor roof/deck pool area is really nice with a great view- great sound system, tennis and pickle ball courts too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sharpsville, IN

Relaxing week of comfort

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and pool
Location: Perfect spot to stay downtown Vegas. Mob museum near by and lots of action.
I was recovering from a recent illness. The low stress environment of the Plaza and the helpful staff made is a very healing week for me and my wife. The pool was outstanding the the front desk staff was very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Right on Fremont Street, lots of unexpected fees, our air conditioning unit was loud, and no hot water for last 3 days of stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul,, MN

First timers

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: The pool on the roof and how close it is to all the action and affordable
Cons: update it so it can compete with the other hotels around it and make the pool a little bigger.
Location: it has all the action near by. shopping, music gambling drinking.
I took my son and daughter down there for there first time, I wanted somewhere down town to stay and that wasn't going to break the bank. Our stay was fine the hotel was clean and the staff was pretty good the only thing I have to complain about is they really could use some updates when you look at all the other hotels around them they lack. but like most people say you don't go down to Vegas to stay in your room so if you are looking for a cheap hotel close to where all the action is then I would recommend this hotel. The pool is a little small but I love how it's on the roof and I do not like how early it closes. This was my 2nd time staying here if I go back again then I will try a new place not because I didn't like it I just want to try new places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Excellent downtown hotel!

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Convenient location to Freemont Street with lots of things to do in the surrounding area! 24 hr bus available 1 block away to whisk you to the strip!
Cons: We did not enjoy being 'hassled' by the 3rd party vacation selling agency located in the hotel lobby and casino. They questioned us daily :/
Location: Freemont Street is LOADED with things to do!!!! Tons of shows and restaurants!!! Cheap bus, running 24 hours a day that will take you to the strip!!
We genuinely loved our time staying at the Plaza! We stayed here for 10 nights so certainly got to truly experience the hotel. Upon checkin we noticed the door to a connecting hotel room was not locking :/ After contacting the front desk they sent up maintenance to fix the door's lock. This was a little inconvenient as we were excited to head out and begin experiencing Vegas after a long morning of travel. Although in the end they were able to perform a quick fix to the lock, we still didn't feel 100% comfortable so the front desk ended up switching our room... Our next room was equally as nice, and had a locking connecting door, so we were happy! The hotel contains a few fast food options as well as sit down restaurants, all of which we enjoyed at some point throughout our stay. The hotel also provides a coupon booklet providing discounts to these establishments which we appreciated as well. The hotel is located at the end of Freemont Street so it was EXTREMELY convenient to walk across the street and join in the constant party occurring here! The daytime experience is nothing compared to the evening/night scene, fully of party people, street vendors, local 'performers', and various live stages where djs/bands were performing. We also enjoyed that Freemont is covered, keeping you out of the RIDICULOUSLY hot Las Vegas sun! We spent most days lounging at the pool at the Plaza--- it can get crowded at times however we still enjoyed it greatly! We will return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick access to Fremont Street

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Room was somewhat decent, good size for 2 people, but the bathroom was WAY to small and smelled like mildew. A LARGE person would NEVER be able to utilize the toilet, luckily for us, we were of average size. The parking was not that great either. There's only a limited amount of space for the guest to park and at night, they allow the public to park for $10 so they're able to walk over to Fremont Street, leaving the guest to find parking down the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Very disappointed

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Great bloody Mary's at the bar!!
Cons: A desk would be helpful when working. Better lighting - could hardly read at night!
Location: Downtown is okay - maybe a little "seedy" looking.
Booked a 2 bed non smoking room - arrived at 7:00 pm or so, and only room was smoking! Horrible!!! Smelled awful - complained - they would move us the next day. Offered to put an ionizer in the room to help take out the smell - it would take an hour. We would have to be out of the room. Unfortunately, it did not help - and and it about 11:00 pm by this time. Since we are from the Midwest, our time was 1:00 am and we were exhausted! We were on a buying trip for our retail stores and had to be up early for market. Next day had to repack and were able to move to a non-smoking room later in the day! Very inconvenient. Reception said that because we booked through Expedia they could not guarantee we would get what we requested.....2 beds non smoking. it is only a "wish". That was an eye opener - will not use Expedia or anyone else again....I felt like I was on the"cheap" for a room and preferences didn't matter. The staff helped make up for the inconvenience, so maybe part of my complaint is also against Experdia
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mn

Room was not cleaned much.left misc garbage on flr

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Was done with minimal cleaning..no chage in clean bedding all week..sheets did not get changed.no shampoo was restocked...no privacy signs to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Fourth stay at Plaza... always impressed!

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Location, atmosphere, wifi, heritage
Cons: Staff attentiveness, especially on the phone. Very often, the front desk or housekeeping won't pick up the phone.
Just far away enough from the Fremont Street Experience to be quiet, but just close enough to be accessible by crossing the street. Good rooms, good gaming, amazing pool, excellent old-school hospitality, all at the right price! I cannot say enough good things about the Plaza. Highly recommended!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Plaza Hotel Review

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to Fremont street and the trade show we were attending.
Cons: Customer Service
Location: Fremont street is directly across the street (old vegas).
Hotel canceled our reservation without notifying any parties after making us change/assign names to rooms through expedia. (Reservation was previously booked under one name, when we arrived we were shown the door because they didn't have names assigned to each room. After we changed our reservation and assigned names to rooms, we had one room cancel because that guest wasn't checking in until a later date.) After they canceled our rooms nobody was notified, the party that arrived was shown the door again.