Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Football Week-end

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Amenities, staff
Cons: Bathroom needs updating.
Staff was great. Everyone was very welcoming to the visitors for a Cornhuskers football game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad the staff took good care of you while you were here. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Lincoln.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Bed was horrible. Bathroom has no vanity or towel hooks. Towels were in the hutch in the main room. Hoorible setup. Definitely expected better for the price charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Would you mind letting us know what your room number was so we can check on replacing that bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Not the reservation that was agreed to.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location and pet friendly
Cons: Reservation policies
Location: Stayed in
When I made our reservation on February 10, 2017 I was told and confirmed for a king bed, and later told it would be a concierge room. When we arrived, we were given an extremely small room on the 3rd floor that was probably the smallest room I've even seen in a good hotel. After complaining to the front desk, they moved us across the hall to a little better room but still not what had been confirmed to us and barely adequate. We've stayed in this hotel before and had a lovely room. I did understand that the hotel was very busy that weekend, but that's why I make my reservation so early - to avoid problems. Considering I made a reservation in Feb. for a room Oct. 6 and agreed to pay close to $500, I at least expected to get what I reserved and paid for.. Unfortunately, after that treatment, we will not be staying at this hotel again. After traveling all day with a very well behaved dog, we were all tired. I'm also questioning using Expedia again because apparently they weren't living up to what they agreed to either. Not sure who's error it was, but was very unhappy with our accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay. I am sorry that you did not get the room you thought you were getting. I am not sure if this played into the guest room choice but we do not allow animals in our concierge rooms or our suites. I am glad you have enjoyed the facility in the past and we hope you will reconsider your decision to not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings, Nebraska

Great location to Downtown & Haymarket good.

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: the staff was great.
Location: close to downtown and not far from walking distance to the hay market and to the University.
Everyone that worked there was very nice and greeted us with kindness and went out of their way to help us. We will for sure stay her again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Disappointed

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Cons: Get new bedding or use less starch
Location: Downtown Lincoln, NE
We chose to stay at the Cornhusker on our wedding night, I had booked a standard room with a king size bed a couple months prior. However, when we arrived, the hostess told us that our room was two doubles... I told her that this was not the room I had reserved, but she said that they were completely booked, and this was the last room they had available. Since it was already late, and a home football game we didn't really have any other option than to take the room, so we did. To top it off, the bedding was extremely "loud" I don't know how else to describe it. Maybe they used too much starch or something, but every time one of us would roll over, it sounded like someone was stepping on a bag of chips. So for the first night of marriage, my husband and I slept on separate beds, and got terrible sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. I am so sorry that we did not make your wedding night special for you. Please email me your address and we will send you a certificate for a complimentary room in the future so we can change your memories of our hotel and your fist night of marriage. Again I am so sorry to hear about this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, Alberta Canada

Excellent stay

Posted Oct 11, 2017
For the busy weekend we were there, the hotel was wonderful, quiet and clean, within walking distance of everywhere we had to be and the staff were incredible. Highly recommended!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a nice review. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Lincoln.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Overpriced

Posted Oct 9, 2017
To pay $500 to stay at a hotel which was $100 the following night is insane. Yes I knew the price and yes I accepted the price. Room right next to the elevator, hearing people in rooms around you through the vents, not right next to major event, small beds. Just not a good experience and money is all they cared about. Room info said $20 for valet parking but I was charged $30?!? Overpriced breakfast when other places cheaper and nicer offer free breakfast. Again I get supply and demand but the increase was so extreme that they should be ashamed. Chicago is cheaper when the bears are playing down the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Excellent location; walking distance to capitol and other culture.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Lincoln.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kearney, NE

Great location for downtown Lincoln

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Location, bar
Location: Great bar & restaurants! Walking distance to lots of entertainment. Close to Husker stadium!
Everything was great. Had a wonderful weekend. Only down fall was I checked my bank account & was billed $30 extra on my credit card. Called to ask why & was told I had to wait for a manager to look into it. Still waiting to hear back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Were you able to find out about the $30 extra? It is possible that was just the authorization for incidentals incase you used them but if that is it, it should have dropped off your statement by now. If not please let me know and I will have it looked into.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Clean, comfortable hotel with a nice restaurant and bar, covered parking, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by B. Paul Tunakan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Lincoln.