Ratings based on 1,230 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Great stay

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Just stayed here for one night recently last minute... was pleasantly surprised by great clean room, and location was great too as close to metro station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Checkers GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Expensive, overpriced valet parking

Posted Oct 30, 2017
I guess for downtown LA it’s what is expected but not for me. Room was ok, bed pretty comfortable, 2 huge down pillows. Nice TV (which required me to manually switch to a different input using the physical side buttons on the TV itself) crummy remote (no guide-having to laboriously scroll through all channels to find what’s on). Teeny BR sink with faucet tap placed so close to back of sink that rinsing hands was impossible without splashing water all over. Valet parking fee was ridiculously high, over $42/day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

nice staff but....

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Really nice staff but the hotel really needs a deep clean and redecorating . Amazing liocation but the rooftop / rooms and bar could be so much better! The roof top had garbage left about almost every night and the hot tub was like bath water / really gross . I ended up just going across the street to the Biltmore hotel (where I’ll stay next time) . My room smelled a bit funky and there was almost no sunlight and def no view. BUT the staff were super lovely .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Checkers GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We are glad to hear that our staff was helpful but sorry that much of your experience was disappointing. Guest feedback helps us to continually improve, and we will share your concerns with our team.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Terrible Staff

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: nothin
Cons: guest experience
Staff was very unfriendly and guest service lacked. Took 3 calls to get a couple bath towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Hilton Checkers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. What you've described is not what's to be expected at the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to assist you with a future reservation and while we might not have the opportunity to welcome you back, we do hope you continue to choose Hilton Hotels in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas tx

Bugs in rooms

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Bed bugs present, found roaches in bathroom. Staff was pleasant. Hotel doesnt have parking so you pay $50 per night... and then if you are in and out of parking additional fees.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverdale, Illinois

Downtown LA is horrible

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: better accommodations
Location: Nothing in area but clubs
hotel sucks unable to really enjoy the atmosphere but could of been better
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles. We are disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. While you might not have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, we do hope you continue to choose Hilton Hotels in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Room is really small. wifi is not stable. I had expected a bigger king size bed. But it looks like a queen size.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles and for taking the time to share your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, OH

Great location and restaurant was wonderful

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Size of room, lobby, bed and overlook on the roof.
Cons: workout room was minimal and tvs never worked.
Location: Restaurants, museums, Concert hall all within walking distance. I ran in Echo park (gave up on the workout room) and that was wonderful for a sunrise.
We stayed for an extended time and loved it. The only complaint was despite telling them for 5 days in a row that the TVs in the workout room never worked and though they said they would correct it (each day) it never happened. Workout room was small and very busy often all machines in use. Restaurant was very good and overall the hotel was just fine. Staff was superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing a detailed review with the Expedia community. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to follow up with our engineering team in regards to your feedback on the fitness center. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel is perfectly located and close to everything DTLA has to offer. If you don't like masssive hotels, this is a good choice. It's clean and quiet. Our family stays here when they are in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Expedia community. We are happy to read that your family enjoys their time with us. We look forward to welcoming them back on a future trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Pink marble bathroom, decent lighting and a historical exterior. Downtown location is great. Excellent recycling program in the room.
Cons: Real coffee makers with a basket. Coffee pods are worthless to anyone who actually drinks coffee.
Location: Little Sister is a great Asian Fusion restaurant a few blocks away.
My experience at Hilton Checkers was fine. I purchased at a very competitive rate and the room was on a low level and pretty dim, but the housekeeping was impeccable and I had a comfortable stay. The coffee makers are criminal but I didn't ask for a regular one and there was a coffee shop across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the perfect 5 out of 5 rating. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team in regards to the coffee maker and lighting. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.