Ratings based on 1,401 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
busy neighbourhood in LA, high tech facility, parking problem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Nice, upscale hotel in the center of downtown!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Recently stayed the weekend with my 12 year old daughter. We travel to this area frequently due to modeling jobs that my daughter books in the area. This is by far the nicest hotel we have stayed in thus far. I would highly recommend and will definitely stay there again next time we are in town. It is a modern, active yet sophisticated hotel with excellent service & amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio,Texas

not to impress

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Hemisphere
Cons: yes check you'll showers Fossils make sure cold water, and hot water are working I had to get out the shower to rinse my hair in the sink cause I had
Location: location was really nice
burn with hot had no cold water, my hair blower string kept going took me awhile to blow dry my hair ,check in found a dirty man underwear
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Great hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
There are a lot of restaurants nearby. Bed are very comfortable. Very clean. Awesome pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great fucking experience. Very clean, looks very ballin. Forsure would bring a friend here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Good Times

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location is great and the guest dervices are great.
Cons: The over night guest parking charge of $49 is ridiculous. There is no reason for the high charge, needs to be more accommodating for guest.
Location: Its the heart of LA Live.
Great place to stay. Quiet rooms and great customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Great room close to Microsoft theater and staples center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, MA

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Very nice hotel close to all LA attractions. Only complaint is water is not draining properly in bath tub.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamloops, BC

Downtown LA

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: $15 a day for wifi? Who does that anymore? The pool and fitness centre costs are included in room rate, why not include wifi, too? Very irritating.
Location: Staples Centre, Microsoft Theatre, convention centre, movies, restaurants, grammy museum, and easy access by transit to so many other things.
Nice hotel right in downtown LA. As close as you can get to events centres and transit. Lots of dining options at and around hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Midst of Downtown but Something Was Missing

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Lobby and access to LA Live
Cons: VALET--- it's a mess and not worth what they charge.
Location: Lots of food and highways are close by. The movie theater is cool too. We went one night and could easily walk back.
So when you expect to pay this much per night, you expect a certain level of luxury that tops other nearby hotels. Of course, there are those hotels that charge $400+ a night too, but the JW brand carries some weight. Anyways, the lobby is great! It's beautiful, nicely laid out. The breakfast area and bar were spacious and comfortable. The concierge was conveniently located away from the check-in counter to divert traffic too. The key cards are really bad. To access any floor, you have to insert the card in the scanning slot (normal for security measures). However, we'd often spend up to a minute trying to get our key to scan in the elevator before we could press a button for our level. It may have been our cards, but many of the guests had the same problem with error lights. Other hotels (of similar grade) also have the RFID tap surface for rooms and elevators... needless to say, this JW needs an upgrade. The rooms were below par. The carpet felt old and in need of a good, deep clean. The linens were on the cheaper feel. Our mattress felt flat and gave us back pain during the day. The pillows would flatten so quickly too. Lastly, the parking situation was so inconvenient. $49/night of valet, you'd expect to at least get the car where you left it. Nope, you have to go two floors down where you wait in a weird waiting area for your car to pull up. Both times, we waited 10-15 minutes for our car. TIP: park catty-corner to the hotel in a lot. It's $30/night.