Ratings based on 1,790 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly clean and pleasant for the price.

Posted Dec 16, 2017
I was there for a few days for business so I looked for an inexpensive hotel with decent reviews and found this one, Had no real idea what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. The man and woman who helped me at various times behind the counter were extremely nice. I was disappointed in the food from the little cafe in the lobby but found excellent food nearby. There is also a gift shop in the lobby that I did not have time to check out. There is a gym and laundry room that were out of commission due to construction on the upper floors but I was not inconvenienced due to my short stay other than some noise during the one day that I tried to rest in my room. According to notices, construction will be completed soon so don't let it stop you from booking here! Nice hotel in Little Tokyo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Draper, UT

Great location

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: The location
The location of the Miyako is excellent for those visiting the Japanese American National Museum and the Go for Broke 442nd RCT Museum and memorial. Spent most of the time in Little Tokyo so we walked everywhere but it is not far from Staples Arena and other points of interest. The hotel itself can use some upgrades, however the location makes it worth the stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Business in LA

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff.
Cons: Upgrades and Renovations are drastically needed. It was like stepping back into the 1980s.
Location: Great location. Lots to do in Little Tokyo. Lots of great places to eat.
This is an average hotel. A good place to get a nights sleep and move on the next day. Nothing special, no frills, no WOW factor. Don't get me wrong this is fine, just make sure that your expectations are managed correctly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, centrally located

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Stayed 6 weeks recovering from surgery. Clean and acomodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scarsdale new york

Never disappointed

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Stay here often and the one and ONLY downside is availability of coffee and breakfast for early risers like myself. Coffee shop and restaurant do not open until 6:30 am. Unfortunately the coffee maker in the room just doesn’t cut it. Otherwise it is always a pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Overrated

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Friendly staffs, but the hotel still using old AC aircon unit in the room, so noisy and loud. Not providing enough Sampoo and body soap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Great price for the quality. Good location, good in room amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent, clean facilities, very helpful staff.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, room size and comfort.
Location: Very popular Japanese soup spot across the street, reasonably clean and staff area.
Currently going through a rebuild in gymnasium and laundry facilities so they are out of action but aside from that a nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calif

family get together

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: staff was outstanding
Cons: the little store should be open more hours.
Location: location was great,
My neice recommend hotel, "OBEY" they were we're doing a show Sat. close by. I had all 3 of my sons come out, and it was one of the best trips. We had 4 rooms & staff was amazing. From checking us in early, to karaoke bar to valet going home, outstanding. Haven't been to J-town in years, definitely coming back! Thank you😁
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Hello, Tokyo

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Proximity ot Japanese restaurants, Union Station and art museums.
Cons: Furnishings can be refreshed. Gift shop is a bummer. Take 5 cafe in lobby is OK for breakfast.
It's been alost 30 years since I visited Little Tokyo in downtown L.A. But I treasure its memoralizing the history of Japanese immigrants and their families. Let me say that I grew up in Los Angeles and while its current level of energy and change is not what my aging body can justly appreciate, for a brief overnight stay it is stimulating and revealing. There are many places to learn about the experience of Japanese-born who come to America while in Little Tokyo. The noodel house, Daikokuya, had 40 people waiting for its 11:00 opening. The Miyako Hotel is close to the Japanese Village Center where the shops are full of soft, squishy animal soft toys, Manga, toys and ceramics. The quality is not what it once was, but this isn't the West side of L.A. The availability of art museums in downtown L.A. is stunning. We visited the Broad to see the Kasuma Infinity Mirrors. The Miyako was just a short Uber hop away.