Ratings based on 1,525 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The room was clean, comfortable, and attractive enough. Staff was friendly and helpful. A happy hour with complimentary wine in the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

avoid

Posted Oct 12, 2017
my room has a very bad smell lack of ironing board and iron elevator broke down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Friendly staff. Very clean room! Beds are fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Quiet location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Good location. Great lobby. Adequate sized room, nice King bed with nice linens and pillows. The tub was wonderful unfortunately the water didn't function either fully as a tub or a shower. Great bath that flooded the bathroom. No ice machine available and also no soda/water or snack vending machine. Nearest snacks a block or 2 away. No bueno. Our room could use some repairs to the floors, air conditioner and the bathroom mirror was loosing it's mirror finish around the edges. It's adequate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside , CA

very small room

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: a lot
Location: very bad location
Bad smell for drugs all over the place , very bad location , the room has one small window at a wall view the ac window and very noisy ..... the hotel the worst place on the earth , i spent one hour and get out the hotel i can't spend one night
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Sam, This is surprising,we are a strictly non smoking hotel. Our location is in one of the safe neighborhoods in Los Angeles.I do apologize if we did not meet your expections
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

A very nice and cozy hotel.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I had such a wonderful experience. The rooms are very nice and cozy. The staff was ALWAYS KIND AND COURTEOUS. I would highly recommend this Hotel to any of my friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Glenn - front desk agent, Hotel Management
Dear Doreen, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Have a nice day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Cute and Comfy

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at the Shelter hotel. It was very small, but served my purposes. The room and lobby area were both extremely clean. The room was a good size; I stayed alone but there was plenty of room for two. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the linens were always clean. One tiny complaint I had was if you want to lay in bed and watch TV, the cable box was positioned behind the television (which was hanging on the wall) so it made changing the channel very difficult. I had to get up out of bed and angle the remote from the side to get it to work. If you don't plan on watching much television, this won't be an issue for you. The shower had good water pressure and there was always hot water. The rooms have a refrigerator, but no microwave. There is a communal microwave on the first floor by the ice machine that was kept clean. The hotel offered a free happy hour from 5-7 in the lobby area. This consisted of wine and crackers. It was a cute gesture, and some guests did gather in the seating areas (indoor and out) to partake. The pool area was small, but during my stay I did not see many people visit it at all so the size didn't really matter. The pool could have used a little cleaning, as many buds from the trees had fallen into the water. I think because not very many people used it, they didn't clean the pool daily. The pool area doesn't receive that much sun so that made swimming iffy. Overall, the hotel was very nice for what I wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Glenn - front desk agent, Hotel Management
Dear Christina, Thank you very much for this very detailed review and the 5-star rating! Your feedback helps us to improve the hotel I have forwarded it to the general manager and the owner so we can work on those improvements. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good for Sleep, Not Good for Showering / Drying

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Location, Updated Rooms
Cons: Give more towels without interrogation\. Women like dry hair and dry bodies. People are active and on vacation. Double Occupancy etc...
Location: Korean Food. Central - Easy to Uber anywhere
This hotel has a good location, but is pretty bare bone. Everyone seems friendly, and there is free wine in the lobby every afternoon. The hotel is small, so don't expect to be able to check-in early. What erg'd me is that there is not a good way to know when rooms are available so you can finally come back and check in but w/e The rooms are pretty bare. For instance there is no dresser in the room. Just a small rod to hang items on. But they have TV with HBO so you can watch Game of Thrones to make up for it. Lastly, there seems to be a severe towel shortage. You only get 2 towels. If you are a single male or female this is probably fine, but if you are traveling together, you may require more. Be prepared to call reception and provide a full explanation to their interrogation on why you would ever need more than 2 towels per 24 hours. ie My wife wants to have dry hair, and dry body.... But I also want to shower.... Or - We went to the beach today etc. Kinda expect much more for $150-$200 / night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Ashwaque, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Glad you liked the rooms, and the location of the hotel.We thank you for the comments and will work on improving to better serve our guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great customer service Comfy beds Nice restrooms *garage is rather small, but it's LA Great spot near a lot of good spots, and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Glenn - front desk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the very nice review and the 5-star-rating! Thank you for staying with us! Have a nice day.
4 out of 5
by Alicd

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Four stars are nice but next time lets shoot for 5! Thanks for the 4 star review.