Ratings based on 1,488 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good for Sleep, Not Good for Showering / Drying

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Location, Updated Rooms
Cons: Give more towels without interrogation\. Women like dry hair and dry bodies. People are active and on vacation. Double Occupancy etc...
Location: Korean Food. Central - Easy to Uber anywhere
This hotel has a good location, but is pretty bare bone. Everyone seems friendly, and there is free wine in the lobby every afternoon. The hotel is small, so don't expect to be able to check-in early. What erg'd me is that there is not a good way to know when rooms are available so you can finally come back and check in but w/e The rooms are pretty bare. For instance there is no dresser in the room. Just a small rod to hang items on. But they have TV with HBO so you can watch Game of Thrones to make up for it. Lastly, there seems to be a severe towel shortage. You only get 2 towels. If you are a single male or female this is probably fine, but if you are traveling together, you may require more. Be prepared to call reception and provide a full explanation to their interrogation on why you would ever need more than 2 towels per 24 hours. ie My wife wants to have dry hair, and dry body.... But I also want to shower.... Or - We went to the beach today etc. Kinda expect much more for $150-$200 / night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great customer service Comfy beds Nice restrooms *garage is rather small, but it's LA Great spot near a lot of good spots, and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Glenn - front desk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the very nice review and the 5-star-rating! Thank you for staying with us! Have a nice day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Big comfortable rooms

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The spacious rooms.
Cons: Add laundry facilities and clean the bugs out of the pool. The floors in the room are looking like they need updating/refinishing.
Our room was nice and big, minimal furniture. Housekeeping was good the days they came, but for some reason didn't clean our room one of the days. Wish they had laundry facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Moe, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It's nice to hear our guests opinion. Housekeeping is available from 8:00am till 7:00pm. You can always request housekeeping by calling the front desk Not sure what happened in your case but if you called the front desk we would of sent a housekeeper to your room tout de suite. The pool service cleans the pool a minimum of 2 times a week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Very cozy friendly hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Staff was very nice and friendly. Quiet comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by t, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average Stay

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms
Cons: Ice machine
Room was very clean and nice but the A/C was was very loud and never cooled the room down. Also 2nd floor doesn't have an ice machine or vending machine. Rooms have a fridge but no cups.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by T, Hotel Management
We are a small hotel and have an ice machine all the way down on the first floor. On your next visit please call the front desk and ask for someone to run some ice up to the second floor. Or maybe take a walk around the building and check out the pool, the ping pong table.and the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Not what I had hoped

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We did not enjoy our stay at Shelter. We killed a 1.5" cockroach in our room, had multiple small bugs around the sink, and had to clean up a dirty, wet rag left behind by the cleaning crew. The wood floors look charming, but you can hear the person (or dog) above you walk across the room. This was constant, even in the middle of the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Roland , Hotel Management
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us, we will try our best to maintain good quality stays for our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Nice, cozy hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Coffee maker and mini fridge, ping pong table, secure parking.
Cons: The elevator doors close very quickly & keep an extra roll of toilet paper in the bathrooms (for sure this one).
Location: Different places to eat and in a good central location for other areas.
The hotel has a nice, casual atmosphere about it with a ping pong table in the back and a many places to relax in quiet. The rooms are comfortable and inviting. There were a couple items that could cause some people to be a little unhappy like a small parking area and a quick closing elevator, but for my group it made for some good laughs. We definitely are planning to return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Roland , Hotel Management
Were really glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, we try our best to keep guests satisfied so this means a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa Beach, FL

Great last minute booking

Posted May 28, 2017
Nice location, you could walk to the Paris Bakery that is incredible! The only recommendations I would suggest is updating the wooden furniture and some painting that have holes in them. But great hotel for the price and wonderful staff!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by t, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review and the suggestion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice Hotel in Koreatown

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and renovated rooms.
Cons: Parking fees.
Location: Lots of restaurants and close to Beverly Hills, Wilshire, La Brea.
The location of this hotel is great if you want to be in LA without being in the heart of it and paying the price for it. A huge plus for me is cleanliness and renovation, which this hotel has. The bed and pillows are super comfortable, hardwood floors is nice and clean, much better than carpet that you don't know what has in it, the bathroom is updated and clean as well. There is free wifi but it was so slow I didn't use it. They do have free filtered water and a microwave downstairs, which is nice. The room also has a mini fridge. Also has a small pool and ping pong table. The staff were also very nice. Did not see any bugs/roaches which is a deal breaker for me, so very happy about that. The tub wasn't draining but was fixed when we told front desk. All in all, very nice for the price. My only gripe is the parking. $20 for compact and $30 for SUV, and of course we had an SUV. Having read posts from just 2016, the parking was free, then went to $10 for duration of stay to this is price gauging and shameful. Clearly street parking in this area is hard to come by, we've spent 30 minutes each night circling 4-5 blocks out and see others wait in their cars for parking, and clearly the hotel knows this to jump from free to $30 per night within a year. I also overheard a visitor who was visiting someone staying at the hotel having to pay this rate as well. They were not happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by T, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We didn't always charge for parking but it became necessary. Many people abused the free parking. We have limited space and we found guest bringing 2 cars and some a third car. The situation was out of hand. We hired a parking attendant and now charge for our parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything wents well

Posted May 22, 2017
Everything is ok just lil problem with the parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by T, Hotel Management
For years we kept parking free. Over the years we found people staying or visiting elsewhere and they would use our free parking. I had to hire a parking attendant and our free parking became a thing of the past.